chihuly logo

CHIHULY | #CHIHULYTO

BUY TICKETS

chihuly logo

From Sand. From Fire. Comes Beauty.

 
 
 
 

ON NOW

Immerse yourself in a spectacular exhibition exploring colour, light, and form by one of the world’s foremost artists working in glass today.

Created by sand, fire, and human breath, these brilliantly coloured works of art produce a magical, sensory experience that will never be forgotten.

See the exhibition in Toronto. On display until January 2, 2017.

BUY TICKETS

DALE CHIHULY

photo of Dale Chihuly

Dale Chihuly, an American sculptor, has mastered the alluring, translucent and transparent qualities of ice, water, glass and neon, to create works of art that transform the viewer experience.

He is globally renowned for his ambitious site-specific architectural installations in public spaces, and in exhibitions presented in museums and gardens worldwide. Born in 1941 in Washington State, Chihuly established the glass program at the Rhode Island School of Design and co-founded Pilchuck Glass School in 1971. He has received numerous awards and honorary degrees and has works of art included in over 250 museum collections.

Major exhibitions include Chihuly Over Venice (1995-96), Chihuly in the Light of Jerusalem (1999), Garden Cycle (2001–present), de Young Museum in San Francisco (2008), the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston (2011), Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Richmond (2012) and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Montreal, Canada (2013.) Chihuly Garden and Glass opened at Seattle Center in 2012.

 

“I want people to be overwhelmed with light and color in a way that they’ve never experienced."
– Dale Chihuly

INSIDE THE STUDIO

As a young artist in Venice, Dale Chihuly observed the centuries-old team approach to blowing glass. This became fundamental to the way he works today, especially when later injuries meant he could no longer blow glass himself. He transitioned to directing a team of artists in his studio, and has commented,
"Once I stepped back, I liked the view."

Photo of Dale Chihuly working in his studio, with four people assiting him




1,000,000 +

visitors attended Chihuly's Tower of David Museum installations in Jerusalem.

200+

included in permanent collections internationally

12

honorary doctoral degrees awarded

1

Chihuly's first major exhibition in Toronto

EXHIBITIONS AND INSTALLATIONS

Dale Chihuly's work is included in more than 200 museum collections worldwide, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Corning Museum of Glass.

See more examples of his art around the world.

map of the world




 

“Glass is the most enchanting of all materials.”
- Dale Chihuly

Chihuly sponsor block imageSaks fifth avenue logo Delta Airlines logo The Toronto Star logo CTV logo OCAF logo

This exhibition is organized by the Royal Ontario Museum in cooperation with Dale Chihuly. The work displayed is protected by copyright and any copying is expressly prohibited.

Photos, from top to bottom: 1) Dale Chihuly, Persian Ceiling, 2012. 25 x 15'. Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, installed 2013. © Copyright 2012 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved. 2) Dale Chihuly, Laguna Torcello (detail), 2012. 12½ x 64 x 20'. © Copyright 2012 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved. 3) Dale Chihuly, Persian Ceiling (detail), 1999. 35 x 14½'. Chihuly Garden and Glass, Seattle, installed 2012. © Copyright 1999 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved. 4) Dale Chihuly. © Copyright 2016 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved. 5) Dale Chihuly, Laguna Torcello (detail), 2012. 12½ x 64 x 20'. © Copyright 2012 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved. 6) Richard Royal, Charles Parriott, David Levy, Chihuly, and Brian Brenno. The Boathouse hotshop, Seattle, 1993. © Copyright 1993 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved. 7) Dale Chihuly, Green Icicle Chandelier (detail), 2013. 9½ x 5½ x 5'. © Copyright 2013 Chihuly Studio. All rights reserved.

CHIHULY | #CHIHULYTO

Du sable et du feu naît la beauté.

 
 
 
 

CETTE EXPOSITION N’EST PLUS À L’AFFICHE

Plongez dans l’univers de la couleur, de la lumière et de la forme dans cette exposition spectaculaire des œuvres de l’un des plus grands maîtres du verre actuel.

Fusion du sable, du feu et du souffle humain, ces magnifiques œuvres d’art vous proposent une aventure sensorielle et magique inoubliable.

Témoignages

Visites guidées

Audioguide

À venir

DALE CHIHULY

Le sculpteur américain Dale Chihuly exploite l’attrait et les qualités intrinsèques de la glace, de l’eau, du verre et du néon en créant des œuvres d’art qui transforment l’expérience du spectateur.

Chihulyi est réputé pour ses œuvres architecturales ambitieuses, installées dans des espaces publics, et ses expositions présentées dans des musées et des jardins dans le monde entier. Né en 1941 dans l’État du Washington, il a créé le programme consacré au verre à la RISD (Rhode Island School of Design) et cofondé la Pilchuck Glass School en 1971é Il a reçu de nombreux prix et doctorats honorifiques. Ses oeuvres sont représentées dans les collections de plus de 250 musées.

Parmi les expositions majeures, citons Chihuly Over Venice (1995-1996), Chihuly in the Light of Jerusalem (1999) et Garden Cycle (en cours depuis 2001). Ses oeuvres ont notamment été présentées au musée de Young Museum de San Francisco (2008), au Museum of Fine Arts de Boston (2011), au Virginia Museum of Fine Arts de Richmond (2012) et au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2013.) L’exposition Chihuly Garden and Glass est à l’affiche du Seattle Center depuis 2012.

 

« Je voudrais que les gens soient inondés de lumière et de couleur comme jamais auparavant. »
– Dale Chihuly

EN ATELIER

La maîtrise de l’art du verre prend des années. Le feu, le verre en fusion et l’exposition à la poussière de verre et aux produits chimiques, tout comme le risque de se couper, en font une technique dangereuse. L’art du verre est le produit d’extrêmes, exigeant force, délicatesse et courage.

Lorsqu’il était apprenti à Venise, Chihuly a observé la tradition séculaire de la collaboration, qui fait aujourd’hui partie intégrante de sa méthode de travail. Blessé, il a dû abandonner toute activité de souffleur et s’est entouré d’une équipe d’artistes qu’il dirige dans son atelier. « Après avoir pris du recul, j’aimais ce que je voyais », dit-il.

1 000 000 +

visiteurs ont vu les installations de Chihuly au musée de la Tour de David à Jérusalem.

200+

collections permanentes à l’international

12

diplômes honorifiques

1

première exposition majeure consacrée à Chihuly à Toronto

EXPOSITIONS ET INSTALLATIONS

Dale Chihuly est représenté dans les collections de plus de 200 musées un peu partout dans le monde, dont le Metropolitan Museum of Art, le Smithsonian American Art Museum et le Corning Museum of Glass.

Tour d’horizon de son œuvre...

 

« Le verre est le matériau le plus envoûtant. »
- Dale Chihuly

Chihuly sponsor block imageSaks fifth avenue logo Delta Airlines logo The Toronto Star logo CTV logo OCAF logo

L’exposition est organisée par le Musée royal de l’Ontario en collaboration avec Dale Chihuly. Les œuvres présentées sont protégées par le droit d’auteur et toute reproduction est strictement interdite.

Photos, de haut en bas :1) Dale Chihuly, Plafond persan, 2012. 7,6 x 4,5 m. Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, installé en 2013 © 2012, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés. 2) Dale Chihuly, Laguna Torcello Torcello (détail), 2012. 3,8 x 19,5 x 6 m © 2012, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés. 3) Dale Chihuly, Plafond persan (détail), 1999. 10,6 x 4,4 m. Chihuly Garden and Glass, Seattle, installé en 2012 © 1999, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés. 4) Dale Chihuly. © 2016, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés. 5) Dale Chihuly, Laguna Torcello (détail), 2012. 3,8 x 19,5 x 6 m © 2012, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés. 6) Richard Royal, Charles Parriott, David Levy, Chihuly, and Brian Brenno. The Boathouse hotshop, Seattle, 1993. ©1993, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés. 7) Dale Chihuly, Lustre vert (détail), 2013. 2,8 x 1,7 x 1,5 m © 2013, Chihuly Studio. Tous droits réservés.