Paul Denis

Paul Denis

Paul Denis

Assistant Curator (Greek, Etruscan, Roman & Byzantine)

Area: World Cultures, World Art & Culture

Exhibitions & Galleries: Joey and Toby Tanenbaum Gallery of Byzantium

Bio

B.A., History, Loyola College, Montreal, 1974
B.A., Art History, McGill University, Montreal, 1976
M.A., Art History, University of Toronto, 1978

Paul Denis has worked at the ROM in the Greek and Roman section since 1981. Originally interested in Greek sculpture, during the last 20 years he has broadened his scope to include most aspects of Greek, Etruscan, Roman and Byzantine art and culture. Generally, his work focuses on the associated research and preparation of objects for permanent galleries and temporary exhibitions; the acquisition of artifacts for the collections; and fundraising for galleries, exhibitions and acquisitions.

Paul was the lead curator responsible for the development of the following permanent galleries: The A.G Leventis Gallery of Ancient Cyprus; Bronze Age Aegean and Geometric Greece Gallery (all 2005); the Eaton Gallery of Rome, the Joey and Toby Tanenbaum Gallery of the Eastern Roman Empire, and the Joey and Toby Tanenbaum Gallery of Byzantium (all 2011). These galleries highlight pieces from Canada’s most important collection of Greek, Etruscan, Roman, and Byzantine art. Collections of particular merit are: vases, marble sculpture and terracotta figurines; Roman marble portraits; and Byzantine decorative arts and mosaics.

Paul also curated such exhibitions as, Gift of the Gods: The Art of Wine Revelry (2001) and more recently Fakes and Forgeries: Past and Present (2010), an exhibition that examines the art of fakery, from works of art to fossils, and from counterfeit batteries to knockoff Dior purses.

Paul’s current research is focused on Pompeii. He is also researching the depiction of a wedding scene preserved on a fragmentary red-figure lebes gamikos (wedding vase) in the ROM’s Diniacopoulous Collection. The vase dates to about 425 BC and is attributed to the Washing Painter, an Attic vase painter who specialized in nuptial scenes. Another area of research is a recently acquired marble statuette of a late Archaic Greek Kore (Greek for maiden) dating to about 500-490 BC.

Like many other curators, Paul works closely with consulate and embassy staff, especially the Consulate Generals of Greece and Cyprus, on exhibitions and related cultural events.


Photos and Videos


Recent Publications

Year Publication
2004 "Foreign Exchanges." Rotunda, 36, Winter (2), 38:44.
2001 "Gift of the Gods: The Art of Wine and Revelry." Royal Ontario Museum
2000 "A Toast to Greece’s Original Vintner." Rotunda, 33, Fall (1), 38-42.
1999 "Statue of Diana. In Louise Hawley Stone: A Life and Legacy." Royal Ontario Museum, 18-19.

Research Projects

Pilgrim tokens or “portable bits of divine energy” were made from the sanctified earth found at pilgrimage sites and stamped with sacred images.

Contact

Paul Denis

Paul Denis

Conservateur adjoint (Grèce, Étrurie, Empires romain et byzantin)

Domaine : World Cultures

Tél. : 416.586.5691

Biographie

B. A. en histoire, Collège Loyola, Montréal, 1974
M. A. en histoire de l’art, Université McGill, Montréal, 1976
M. A. en histoire de l’art, Université de Toronto, 1978

Paul Denis s’est joint au Musée royal de l’Ontario (ROM) en 1981 dans le secteur des antiquités gréco-romaines. Ce spécialiste de la statuaire grecque a élargi ses champs d’intérêt au cours des vingt dernières années et s’intéresse maintenant à la plupart des domaines relevant des arts et cultures grecque, étrusque, romaine et byzantine. Ses fonctions l’amènent à effectuer la recherche préparatoire à l’exposition des objets dans les galeries permanentes et les expositions temporaires, à obtenir de nouveaux artéfacts pour les collections et à chercher du financement pour les galeries, les expositions et les acquisitions.

M. Denis a assumé les fonctions de conservateur en chef dans la réalisation des galeries suivantes : la Galerie de la Fondation A.G. Leventis : La Chypre antique et la Galerie de l’Égée à l’âge du Bronze (en 2005); et la Galerie Eaton de Rome, la Galerie Joey et Toby Tanenbaum de Rome et du Proche-Orient et la Galerie Joey et Toby Tanenbaum de Byzance (en 2011). Ces galeries présentent des joyaux de la plus riche collection, au Canada, d’art grec, étrusque, romain et byzantin. Notons en particulier les vases, les sculptures en marbre, les figurines en terre cuite, les portraits romains en marbre, et les mosaïques et arts décoratifs byzantins.

M. Denis a également été le commissaire d’Un don des dieux : l’art du Vin et de la Fête (2001) et de Faux et contrefaçons : hier et aujourd’hui (2010), exposition sur la contrefaçon – aussi bien des œuvres d’art que des fossiles, des piles que des sacs à main Dior.

Ces derniers temps, ses recherches portent sur Pompéi. Il s’intéresse aussi à une scène de mariage préservée sur un lébès gamikos (vase nuptial) fragmentaire à figures rouges, tiré de la collection Diniacopoulous du ROM. Ce vase, qui date d’environ 425 av. notre ère, est attribué au Peintre des Baigneuses, peintre de vases attiques qui se spécialisait dans les scènes nuptiales. Une toute nouvelle statuette de marbre représentant une korê (jeune fille grecque) remontant à environ 500-490 avant notre ère (fin de la période archaïque) retient également son attention.

Comme de nombreux conservateurs, M. Denis travaille en étroite collaboration avec le personnel des ambassades et des consulats, en particulier ceux de Grèce et de Chypre, dans le cadre des expositions et des manifestations culturelles qui s’y rattachent.

 

Projets de recherche

Pompéi au ROM

En collaboration avec le Musée national d’archéologie de Naples, le ROM organise une exposition sur Pompéi, qui devrait ouvrir en juin 2015. 

Capter l’étincelle divine

Les médaillons, qu’on croyait emprisonner l’étincelle divine, étaient fabriqués à partir de la terre des lieux saints et ornés d’images sacrées estampées.

Un scarabée étrusque trouve un nouvel usage

Notre section de la civilisation gréco-romaine a fait l’acquisition d’un intéressant fragment d’anneau, où le joailler avait recyclé un scarabée étrusque en cornaline. C’est comme une intaille dont le revers a la forme d’un scarabée. 

Contact