Mary Burridge

Mary Burridge

Mary Burridge

Assistant Curator of Ichthyology

Area: Natural History, Biodiversity

Exhibitions & Galleries: Patrick and Barbara Keenan Family Hands-on Biodiversity Gallery, Life in Crisis: Schad Gallery of Biodiversity, Hands On Nature (Travelling Exhibition)

Phone: 416.586.5531

Bio

B.Sc., Fisheries and Wildlife, University of Guelph, 1980

Mary Burridge is an Assistant Curator of Ichthyology in the Department of Natural History. She teaches the Ontario Fish Identification Workshop and is a contributing editor to ROM magazine.

Spending her childhood summers in Muskoka, Mary grew up with a love of the great outdoors, especially water. Since canoeing, sailing, swimming and fishing were her passions as a child, it was a natural progression to delve into the depths, and she became a SCUBA diver at a young age, passing her open water dive in the dark, cold waters of Lake Ontario. Having a relative and mentor with an enviable career at Fisheries and Oceans Canada, she followed in his footsteps and began a Bachelor of Science degree, majoring in Fisheries at the University of Guelph. Being the only female in a class of 25 students, she quickly learned some necessary survival strategies (like holding her own at a bar).

While she was a student, Mary worked the summers with the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) assisting in a project to reintroduce Lake Whitefish into Lake Simcoe. After her graduation, she continued working for the OMNR until her career evolved from managing resources to conducting research on resources.  In 1981, her good fortune led to a research assistant position at the ROM with Dr. E.J. Crossman. For four years, she struggled on short term contracts, and then gratefully accepted a position as Curatorial Assistant in the Department of Ichthyology and Herpetology.

Mary has contributed to a wide range of projects during her career at the ROM. From naming and describing new species of fishes, to diving on picturesque coral reefs in the Philippines and Vietnam (a far cry from Lake Ontario), her research endeavours have led to a dozen publications on freshwater Southeast Asian and marine Indo-Pacific species.

Because of her interest in education, Mary became a team member in the development of the popular Patrick and Barbara Keenan Family Hands-on Biodiversity Gallery, the travelling exhibit Hands On Nature, and the ROM's newest gallery, the Schad Gallery of Biodiversity .

She has organized many March Break, Christmas Holiday and Wildlife Week public programs for the life science disciplines including “Night Life,” and “ROM’s Believe it or Not.” Mary visits schools, libraries, seniors' homes and summer camps extolling the virtues of the natural world.

She also works with the large collection of fishes at the ROM and manages the frozen fish tissue collection, which is becoming increasingly important for molecular research. Mary is a co-author of the fourth book in the ROM field guide series, The ROM Field Guide to the Freshwater Fishes of Ontario, which has just been published.


Research Projects

The ROM's Department of Natural History will once again be offering Fish Identification Workshops in the spring of 2014. Three-day workshops will cover the bro

Contact

Mary Burridge

Mary Burridge

Mary Burridge

Conservatrice adjointe en ichtyologie

Domaine : Natural History, Biodiversity

Expositions et galeries Galerie Famille Patrick et Barbara Keenan de la biodiversité interactive, La vie en péril : Galerie Schad de la biodiversité, La nature interactive (exposition itinérante)

Tél. : 416.586.5531

Biographie

Baccalauréat en ichtyologie et en zoologie, Université de Guelph, 1980

Mary Burridge est conservatrice adjointe en ichtyologie au Département d’histoire naturelle. Elle donne l’atelier d’identification des poissons de l’Ontario et collabore à la rédaction du ROM Magazine.

Ayant passé ses étés dans le district de Muskoka lorsqu'elle était enfant, Mary a toujours aimé le plein air, et les étendues d’eau en particulier. Passionnée par le canot, la voile, la natation et la pêche dès son plus jeune âge, elle est passée tout naturellement à la plongée en scaphandre autonome. Elle a obtenu son certificat de plongée en eau libre dans les eaux froides et sombres du lac Ontario. L’un des membres de sa famille ayant une belle carrière à Pêches et Océans Canada a proposé de devenir son mentor. Elle a marché sur ses traces et entrepris un baccalauréat en sciences, avec une majeure en ichtyologie, de l’Université de Guelph. Étant la seule femme dans une classe de 25 étudiants, elle a rapidement adopté des stratégies de survie (dans les bars, par exemple).

Adolescente, Mary a eu des emplois d’été au ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario : elle participait à un projet consistant à réintroduire le grand corégone dans le lac Simcoe. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, elle a continué à travailler pour le Ministère tant qu’elle était gestionnaire des ressources. Elle ne l’a quitté que lorsqu’elle est devenue chercheure. En 1981, elle a eu la chance d’obtenir un poste d’adjointe de recherche au ROM sous l’égide d’E.J. Crossman. Pendant quatre ans, elle a vécu de contrats à court terme avant d’accepter le poste d’adjointe à la conservation au Département d’ichtyologie et d’herpétologie..

Mme Burridge a participé à une foule de projets au ROM. Elle a identifié et décrit de nouvelles espèces de poissons, exploré les pittoresques récifs coralliens des Philippines et du Vietnam (elle en a fait du chemin depuis ses plongées dans le lac Ontario), et rédigé une douzaine de publications sur la faune d’eau douce d’Asie du Sud-Est et les espèces marines indo-pacifiques.

S’intéressant à l’éducation, Mme Burridge a été membre des équipes responsables de la populaire Galerie Famille Patrick et Barbara Keenan de la biodiversité interactive, de l’exposition itinérante La nature interactive et de la Galerie Schad de la biodiversité.

Elle a organisé plusieurs activités pour les Fêtes, la relâche scolaire de mars et la Semaine nationale de la conservation de la faune, dont Night Life et ROM’s Believe it or Not. Évoquant les beautés de la nature, elle visite des écoles, des bibliothèques, des résidences pour personnes âgées et des colonies de vacances.

De plus, elle s’occupe de la vaste collection de poissons du Musée et gère sa collection de tissus de poissons congelés, qui joue un rôle de plus en plus important en biologie moléculaire. Elle est co-auteure du 4e volume de notre série de guides d’identification : The ROM Field Guide to the Freshwater Fishes of Ontario.

Contact