Katherine Dunnell

Katherine Dunnell

Technician

Area: Natural History, Earth & Space

Phone: 416.586.5816

Bio

B.A. (Honours), Physical Geography, University of Windsor, 1992
B.Sc. (Honours), Geology & Geochemistry, University of Windsor, 1996
FCGmA Gemmology, Canadian Gemmological Association, final exam pending

Katherine Dunnell is a mineralogy technician in the Department of Natural History.

Katherine's original passion was medicine, but after a year of university spent touching ‘slimy’ things, she decided inorganic sciences were much more appealing. Geology really appealed to her because it is the most tactile of all the sciences, so she switched to an undergraduate program in physical geography.

In between academic years, she spent two summers with the Ontario Geological Survey (OGS), working as a junior mapper and living in northern Ontario. From her experiences in the ‘bush’, Katherine gained a better appreciation for the beauty of the unspoiled north, the ability to cook a roast over an open fire, and a huge distain for black flies. She also worked two summers at the Great Lakes Institute for Environmental Research, dredging up mud and sediment samples from Lake Erie and collecting zebra mussels to analyze in the accredited lab. Her studies there focused around where the heavy metals were concentrated within the sediments, and whether they were bioavailable.

Katherine's appreciation for museums was instilled during her childhood, with frequent visits to the ROM and McLaughlin Planetarium, as well as the Detroit Institute of Art. She joined the ROM in 1997, and since then has participated in the development of several exhibitions, including: The Black Star Sapphire of Queensland (2007); Italian Arts & Design: The 20th Century (2006); Pearls: A Natural History (2005); and Our Crystalline World, It’s Many Faces (2004-Greater Toronto Area Authority (GTAA) exhibition program). She was also a member of the Gallery Development Team for the ROM's Teck Suite of Galleries: Earth's Treasures, and the exhibit, The Nature of Diamonds. .

Katherine is a frequent speaker at ROM events and to external groups with an interest in mineralogy. Gems and jewellery remain her focus and passion.

Contact

Katherine Dunnell

Katherine Dunnell

Technicienne en minéralogie

Domaine : Natural History, Earth & Space

Tél. : 416.586.5816

Biographie

Baccalauréat en géographie physique, Université de Windsor, 1992
Baccalauréat en géologie et en géochimie, Université de Windsor, 1996
Bourse en gemmologie de la Canadian Gemmological Association (en attente du résultat de son examen final)

Katherine Dunnell fait partie de l’équipe assurant le commissariat de Pompéi : À l’ombre du volcan. Technicienne en minéralogie au Département d’histoire naturelle du Musée royal de l’Ontario (ROM), elle est titulaire de deux baccalauréats de l’Université de Windsor : l’un en géographie physique et l’autre en géologie et en géochimie. 

Sa première vocation était la médecine mais, après avoir passé un an à manipuler toutes sortes de matières visqueuses, elle a opté pour les sciences de la terre.

Étudiante, elle a passé deux étés au fin fond de la forêt, dans le Nord de la province, en tant que cartographe stagiaire à la Commission géologique de l’Ontario. Son expérience lui a fait apprécier la beauté sauvage du Nord, lui a appris à rôtir de la viande en plein air et lui a inculqué une haine farouche des mouches noires. Elle a aussi travaillé deux étés au Great Lakes Institute for Environmental Research, où elle récoltait des échantillons de boue et de sédiments du lac Érié et des moules zébrées qu’elle analysait dans le laboratoire accrédité. Ses études à l’institut portaient sur le lieu de concentration des métaux lourds dans les sédiments et sur leur biodisponibilité.

Mme Dunnell s’intéresse aux musées depuis sa tendre enfance : elle fréquentait assidûment le ROM, le Planétarium McLaughlin et l’Institut des arts de Detroit. Après être arrivée au ROM en 1997, elle a participé à la conception de plusieurs expositions, dont La nature des diamants (2008), Le Saphir noir étoilé du Queensland (2007), Arts et design italiens : Le XXe siècle (2006), Les perles : une histoire naturelle (2005) et Notre univers cristallin : ses multiples facettes (2004), celle-ci ayant été créée pour le programme d’expositions de l’Autorité aéroportuaire du Grand Toronto. En outre, elle a fait partie de l’équipe qui a conçu la Galerie de la Société Barrick Gold et les Galeries Teck : Les richesses de la Terre, inaugurées respectivement en 2014 et en 2008.

Mme Dunnell prononce souvent des conférences au ROM et devant les groupes qui s’intéressent à la minéralogie. Les pierres précieuses et les bijoux la passionnent. 

Contact