Clemens Reichel

Dr. Clemens Reichel

Clemens Reichel

Associate Curator

Exhibitions & Galleries: Wirth Gallery of the Middle East

Bio

cand. phil., Mesopotamian Archaeology, Assyriology & Classical
Archaeology, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany, 1989
M.A., Mesopotamian Archaeology, University of London, 1990
Ph. D., Mesopotamian Archaeology, University of Chicago, 2001

Born and raised in a small town in Southern Germany’s Black Forest, Dr. Clemens Reichel’s interest in archaeology awoke during a trip to Rome at the age of 12. His first encounter with Near Eastern archaeology occurred at the University of Freiburg (Germany). His studies subsequently took him to the University of London and the University of Chicago, where he received his Ph.D. in Mesopotamian archaeology. Dr. Reichel has excavated and surveyed extensively on sites in Turkey, Syria, Jordan, and Egypt. Since 2004 he has been directing the Hamoukar Expedition, a large Late Chalcolithic and Early Bronze Age site in northeastern Syria that is excavated in a joint project between the University of Chicago’s Oriental Institute and the Syrian Department of Antiquities.

Though "a field archaeologist at heart," Reichel’s background includes extensive museum work. Since 1999 he has been the director of the Diyala Project, which aims at the publication of over 15,000 objects from excavations undertaken by the University of Chicago’s Oriental Institute in the Diyala Region (Iraq) during the 1930’s in an on-line database. In 2002 and 2003 he was Assistant Curator at the Oriental Institute Museum, working on the reinstallation of the museum’s Mesopotamian Gallery. Following the Iraq War and subsequent looting of the Iraq Museum in Baghdad in 2003, Reichel coordinated the creation of an on-line database of artifacts likely to have been stolen from the museum.

Dr. Reichel’s research interests concentrate on complex societies and the evolution of urbanism. He has a comprehensive background in Sumerian and Akkadian, Mesopotamia’s ancient languages written in cuneiform writing. His publications include studies on "text archaeology" (the archeological use of written sources), seals and clay sealings from the Diyala and Hamoukar excavations, aspects of divine kingship in Mesopotamia, and the current threat to Iraq’s cultural heritage.

Clemens Reichel

Clemens Reichel

Conservateur adjoint

Domaine : World Cultures, Ancient Cultures

Tél. : 416.946.0741

Biographie

C.Phil., Archéologie de la Mésopotamie, Assyriologie et Archéologie classique, Université Albert-Ludwig de Fribourg-en-Brisgau (Allemagne), 1989
Maîtrise en archéologie de la Mésopotamie, Université de Londres, 1990
Doctorat en archéologie de la Mésopotamie, Université de 
Chicago, 2001

Clemens Reichel est né et a grandi dans une petite ville de la Forêt-Noire dans le sud de l’Allemagne. Son intérêt pour l’archéologie s’est éveillé lorsqu’il avait 12 ans au cours d’un voyage à Rome. C’est à l’Université de Fribourg-en-Brisgau (Allemagne) qu’il s’est initié à l’archéologie du Proche-Orient. Il a ensuite étudié à l’Université de Londres et à l’Université de Chicago, où il a obtenu son doctorat en archéologie de la Mésopotamie. M. Reichel a pratiqué un grand nombre de fouilles en Turquie, en Syrie, en Jordanie et en Égypte. Depuis 2004, il dirige l’expédition Hamoukar dans le nord-est de la Syrie, un important site du chalcolithique supérieur et du début de l'Âge du bronze, où collaborent des archéologues de l’Institut oriental de l’Université de Chicago et du ministère des Antiquités de la Syrie.

Bien qu’il se considère avant tout comme un archéologue sur le terrain, M. Reichel a passé beaucoup de temps dans les musées. Il est depuis 1999 directeur du projet Diyala, qui vise à publier sur le Web des données sur plus de 15 000 objets exhumés lors des fouilles menées dans les années trente par l’Institut oriental de l’Université de Chicago dans la région de la Diyala, en Irak. En 2002 et en 2003, il a été conservateur adjoint au Musée de l’Institut oriental, dont il s’efforçait de monter à nouveau la Galerie de la Mésopotamie. Après la guerre et le pillage du Musée de l’Irak à Bagdad en 2003, M. Reichel a coordonné la création d’une base de données en ligne sur les artéfacts qu’on croit avoir été volés au musée.

M. Reichel s’intéresse aux sociétés complexes et à l’évolution de l’urbanisme. Il a longuement étudié le sumérien et l’akkadien, langues mésopotamiennes qui s’écrivaient en caractères cunéiformes. Il a publié des études sur l’archéologie textuelle (l’analyse des textes écrits à des fins archéologiques), sur les sceaux de Hamoukar et de la région de la Diyala, sur les différentes facettes de la monarchie de droit divin en Mésopotamie et sur la menace actuelle qui pèse sur le patrimoine culturel iraquien.

Contact