June 2, 2018 to October 8, 2018

Can architecture feel, care, and respond? Can it start, in primitive ways, to come alive? Philip Beesley thinks so.

With a pioneering approach to structures and space that rests within the emerging field of responsive architecture, Philip Beesley: Transforming Space invites you to imagine and explore what architecture might look like in the future.

This installation merges chemistry, artificial intelligence and encompassing soundscapes from Philip Beesley and his collaborators in the Living Architecture Systems group to create a visually stunning, interactive environment that surrounds you like an enchanting artificial forest.

Hovering from above, delicate canopies and soaring clouds made up of lightweight meshes and 3D printed forms are embedded with responsive mechanisms and tiny microprocessors, creating an immersive structure that breathes, shifts, and even learns in relation to the people it surrounds.

Sharing a mutual fascination for materials and structures, Beesley and Iris van Herpen, one of today’s most original fashion designers, have influenced and contributed to one another’s work to push the boundaries of design and how we think about it.

Collaboration at Work

Iris van Herpen’s Aeriform collection, presented during Paris Couture week, marked her tenth anniversary. To further contribute to its growing collection of Fashions & Textiles, the ROM commissioned an iconic, soon-to-be-realized piece from this latest collection.

“To me this dress is . . . an expression of the way Philip inspires me to rethink the relationship between our body and the space around us, to remodel the relation between our insides and our outsides.”

— Iris van Herpen

The Dome dress was inspired by air and designed with innovative materials to produce an intricate silhouette that floats around the body like a wondrous silver cloud. Made in collaboration with Philip Beesley, this incredibly light dress was created using delicate and voluminous laser-cut metal lace that was then hand-molded into three-dimensional domes. With nature as van Herpen’s other muse, the rose-like domes mimic bubbles of air reflecting light and billowing around the body, producing the airy, weightless movement of the Dome dress.

See this stunning design and special collaborative piece in the exhibition.

 

Royal Exhibitions Circle:
Gail and Bob Farquharson
Chris & Kasia Jamroz
Robert E. Pierce & family
Stephen Smith & Diane Blake
James and Louise Temerty
Richard Wernham & Julia West
Jeff Willner & family
Anonymous

Philip Beesley: Transforming Space was created by Philip Beesley and the Living Architecture Systems group.

The Philip Beesley Studio thanks the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, University of Waterloo, Canada Council for the Arts, Cultural Centre, Paris, Consulate General of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Toronto, Ontario Arts Council, and Toronto Arts Council.

Photos, from top to bottom:
1) View of the sphere element of Astrocyte, an immersive installation for the EDIT: Expo for Design, Innovation & Technology, Toronto, Canada, 2017.
2) Photo by Yannis Vlamos

L’architecture peut-elle réagir, sentir, voire s’émouvoir? Peut-elle s’animer sous des formes élémentaires? Philip Beesley en est convaincu.

Transformer l’espace s’inscrit dans le courant de l’architecture réactive, une discipline émergente qui porte un regard nouveau sur les structures et l’espace, et nous invite à envisager le futur de l’architecture.

Cette installation, conçue par Philip Beesley et ses collaborateurs du groupe Living Architecture Systems, associe la chimie, l’intelligence artificielle et des paysages sonores immersifs afin de créer un environnement interactif d’une beauté remarquable : une merveilleuse forêt artificielle qui enveloppe les visiteurs.

De hauts nuages et de délicates voûtes forestières, formés de légères masses enchevêtrées et de formes imprimées en 3D, sont suspendus au plafond. Les mécanismes interactifs et les microprocesseurs qui y sont intégrés donnent vie à cette structure immersive qui respire et bouge au passage des visiteurs et s’adapte même à eux.

Philip Beesley a notamment collaboré avec Iris van Herpen, l’une des créatrices de mode les plus originales de notre époque. Tous deux fascinés par les matériaux et les structures, ces artistes se sont influencés mutuellement afin de repousser les limites du design et de repenser la démarche de la création.

Une collaboration fructueuse

La collection Aeriform d’Iris van Herpen, présentée pendant la Semaine de la mode à Paris, marque le dixième anniversaire de l’atelier de la créatrice. Afin d’enrichir sa collection de textiles et de costume, le ROM a commandé et fait l’acquisition d’une robe emblématique provenant de cette série.

« Pour moi, cette robe montre bien comment Philip m’inspire et m’amène à réexaminer la relation qui existe entre notre corps et l’espace qui nous entoure, à repenser le lien entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur. »

— Iris van Herpen

La robe Dôme s’inspire de l’atmosphère et fait appel à des matériaux innovants afin de dessiner une silhouette qui flotte autour du corps tel un nuage argenté éblouissant. Fruit d’une collaboration avec Philip Beesley, cette robe étonnamment légère est faite de dentelle de métal à la fois délicate et volumineuse, coupée au laser puis modelée à la main afin de lui donner l’apparence de dômes tridimensionnels. Inspirés de la nature, ces dômes ressemblent à des roses, des bulles d’air chatoyantes qui se déploient le long du corps, produisant un mouvement vaporeux qui semble défier la gravité.

Voyez cette superbe robe réalisée en collaboration en visitant cette exposition.

 

Cercle royal des expositions :
Gail et Bob Farquharson
Chris et Kasia Jamroz
Robert E. Pierce et sa famille
Stephen Smith et Diane Blake
James et Louise Temerty
Richard Wernham et Julia West
Jeff Willner et sa famille
Don anonyme

Philip Beesley : Transformer l’espace est une création de Philip Beesley et du groupe Living Architecture Systems.

Le Studio Philip Beesley tient à remercier le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, l’Université de Waterloo, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Centre culturel canadien à Paris, le Consulat général du Royaume des Pays-Bas à Toronto, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et le Conseil des arts de Toronto.

Photos, de haut en bas :
1) Détail du noyau d’Astrocyte, une installation immersive conçue pour EDIT: Expo for Design, Innovation & Technology, Toronto, Canada, 2017
2) Photo : Yannis Vlamos