June 2, 2018 to October 8, 2018

Look beyond fashion and explore the endless possibilities that come from interweaving design, art, and technology in Iris van Herpen: Transforming Fashion.

The exhibition explores the extraordinary designs of Dutch couturier, Iris van Herpen, through her 2008-2015 collections that push the boundaries of traditional fashion and craftsmanship.

Accompanying Iris van Herpen: Transforming Fashion is the immersive installation Philip Beesley: Transforming Space. Together, they take you on a captivating exploration into design, fashion, technology and the world around us.

BUY TICKETS

Free for ROM Members

Free tours in English and French available. More information.

Descriptive Audio Tour

Download the playlist in advance.

Download the transcript here.

 

Iris van Herpen’s bold creations have been at the forefront of experimentation and collaboration. She has earned international acclaim for her extraordinary shapes that use innovative materials, from metal umbrella ribs to magnets, and by working with leading architects, engineers and scientists, placing her at the edge of new technologies.

Past collaborations include her work with one of Canada’s most forward-thinking architects, Philip Beesley. Sharing a mutual fascination for materials and structures, van Herpen and Beesley have influenced and contributed to one another’s work to push the boundaries of design and how we think about it.

Collaboration at Work

Iris van Herpen’s Aeriform collection, presented during Paris Couture week, marked her tenth anniversary. To further contribute to its growing collection of Fashions & Textiles, the ROM commissioned an iconic, soon-to-be-realized piece from this latest collection.

“To me this dress is . . . an expression of the way Philip inspires me to rethink the relationship between our body and the space around us, to remodel the relation between our insides and our outsides.”

— Iris van Herpen

The Dome dress was inspired by air and designed with innovative materials to produce an intricate silhouette that floats around the body like a wondrous silver cloud. Made in collaboration with Philip Beesley, this incredibly light dress was created using delicate and voluminous laser-cut metal lace that was then hand-molded into three-dimensional domes. With nature as van Herpen’s other muse, the rose-like domes mimic bubbles of air reflecting light and billowing around the body, producing the airy, weightless movement of the Dome dress.

See this stunning design and special collaborative piece in the exhibition.

 

Royal Exhibitions Circle:
Gail and Bob Farquharson
Chris & Kasia Jamroz
Robert E. Pierce & family
Stephen Smith & Diane Blake
James and Louise Temerty
Richard Wernham & Julia West
Jeff Willner & family
Anonymous

Iris van Herpen: Transforming Fashion is co-organized by the High Museum of Art, Atlanta and the Groninger Museum, the Netherlands. The exhibition was curated by Sarah Schleuning, High Museum of Art, and Mark Wilson and Sue-an van der Zijpp, Groninger Museum.

Photos, from top to bottom:
1) Radiation Invasion, Dress, September 2009. Faux leather, gold foil, cotton, and tulle Groninger Museum, 2012.0201 Photo by Bart Oomes, No 6 Studios.
2) Refinery Smoke, Dress, July 2008. Untreated woven metal gauze and cow leather. Groninger Museum, 2012.0196. Photo by Bart Oomes, No 6 Studios.
3) Directed by: Stylianos Pangalos. Music by: Salvador Breed, Between Music. Editing: Veronica Bonafè. Director of Photography: Matthieu David Cournot, Phil Prieur. Production: ADM paris
4) Photo by Yannis Vlamos

Du 2 juin 2018 au 8 octobre 2018

L’exposition Iris van Herpen : Transformer la mode examine le potentiel illimité de la mode en combinant le design, l’art et la technologie.

Elle montre des œuvres originales de cette créatrice néerlandaise en présentant ses collections de 2008 à 2015, qui repoussent les limites de la mode et du savoir-faire traditionnels.

À cette exposition s’ajoute l’installation immersive de Philip Beesley : Transformer l’espace. Ensemble, Transformer la mode et Transformer l’espace sauront vous captiver par leur exploration du design, de la mode, de la technologie et du monde qui nous entoure.

ACHETEZ VOS BILLETS

Gratuit pour les membres du ROM

Des visites guidées gratuites ont lieu en français et en anglais. En savoir plus.

Audiodescription

Téléchargez la liste de lecture à l’avance.

Transcription.

 

Les créations audacieuses d’Iris van Herpen sont le fruit de l’expérimentation et de la collaboration. Sa réputation internationale s’appuie à la fois sur les formes extraordinaires qu’elle obtient à l’aide de matériaux novateurs—des baleines de parapluie en métal aux aimants—et sur les technologies de pointe qu’elle emploie notamment en travaillant avec des architectes, des ingénieurs et des scientifiques de renom.

Elle-même l’une des créatrices de mode les plus originales de notre époque, Iris van Herpen a notamment collaboré avec Philip Beesley, l’un des grands visionnaires de l’architecture au Canada. Tous deux fascinés par les matériaux et les structures, ces artistes se sont influencés mutuellement afin de repousser les limites du design et de repenser la démarche de la création.

Une Collaboration Fructueuse

La collection Aeriform d’Iris van Herpen, présentée pendant la Semaine de la mode à Paris, marque le dixième anniversaire de l’atelier de la créatrice. Afin d’enrichir sa collection de textiles et de costume, le ROM a commandé et fait l’acquisition d’une robe emblématique provenant de cette série.

« Pour moi, cette robe montre bien comment Philip m’inspire et m’amène à réexaminer la relation qui existe entre notre corps et l’espace qui nous entoure, à repenser le lien entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur. »

— Iris van Herpen

La robe Dôme s’inspire de l’atmosphère et fait appel à des matériaux innovants afin de dessiner une silhouette qui flotte autour du corps tel un nuage argenté éblouissant. Fruit d’une collaboration avec Philip Beesley, cette robe étonnamment légère est faite de dentelle de métal à la fois délicate et volumineuse, coupée au laser puis modelée à la main afin de lui donner l’apparence de dômes tridimensionnels. Inspirés de la nature, ces dômes ressemblent à des roses, des bulles d’air chatoyantes qui se déploient le long du corps, produisant un mouvement vaporeux qui semble défier la gravité.

Voyez cette superbe robe réalisée en collaboration en visitant cette exposition.

 

Cercle royal des expositions :
Gail et Bob Farquharson
Chris et Kasia Jamroz
Robert E. Pierce et sa famille
Stephen Smith et Diane Blake
James et Louise Temerty
Richard Wernham et Julia West
Jeff Willner et sa famille
Don anonyme

L’exposition Iris van Herpen : Transformer la mode est organisée conjointement par le High Museum of Art d’Atlanta et le musée de Groningue, aux Pays-Bas. Le commissariat de l’exposition est assuré par Sarah Schleuning (High Museum of Art), ainsi que Mark Wilson et Sue-an van der Zijpp (musée de Groningue).

Photos, de haut en bas :
1) Robe Radiation Invasion, septembre 2009. Similicuir, dorure à la feuille, coton et tulle, musée de Groningue, 2012.0201. Photo : Bart Oomes, No 6 Studios
2) Robe Refinery Smoke, juillet 2008. Gaze de métal tissée et non traitée et cuir de vache, musée de Groningue, 2012.0196. Photo : Bart Oomes, No 6 Studios
3) Réalisation : Stylianos Pangalos. Musique : Salvador Breed, Between Music. Montage : Veronica Bonafè. Direction photo : Matthieu David Cournot, Phil Prieur. Production : ADM Paris
4) Photo : Yannis Vlamos