Erling Holm

Erling Holm

Assistant Curator

Area: Natural History

Exhibitions & Galleries: Life in Crisis: Schad Gallery of Biodiversity, Patrick and Barbara Keenan Family Gallery of Hands-on Biodiversity

Phone: 416.586.5760

Bio

B.Sc., Biology, University of Toronto, 1973

Erling Holm is an Assistant Curator of Ichthyology in the Department of Natural History.

Born in 1950 in Denmark, Erling immigrated to Toronto with his parents and three siblings in 1958. While studying at the University of Toronto, Erling spent his summers surveying lakes and streams for the Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR). After graduating in 1973, Erling continued contract work for the MNR, identifying small fish samples for Ontario's Lake and Stream Inventory Program. In October 1977, he joined the staff in the Department of Ichthyology & Herpetology at the ROM as a Curatorial Assistant under Dr. E.J. Crossman. His responsibilities included managing the rapidly growing ichthyology collection and conducting fieldwork and research.

As collection manager, Erling is involved in acquiring, preserving, identifying, cataloguing and documenting collections of fishes. He provides information and data on collection holdings and facilitates loans, exchanges and gifts of ROM specimens and tissues. He maintains the ROM ichthyology database, which is available for searching at several websites: Global Biodiversity Information Facility, the Canadian Biodiversity Information Facility, Vertnet, and Fishnet2.

Erling’s other activities are focused on the conservation and taxonomy of fishes. He is a recognized authority on the identification of Ontario fishes and frequently assists organizations and individuals with fish identification. He developed the ROM’s popular Fish Identification Workshops, which have attracted over 800 fisheries professionals over the past 10 years. These workshops are given every year during the last two weeks of April and the first week of May. Erling has developed computer identification guides and is presently revising the identification keys to Scott and Crossman’s (1973) Freshwater Fishes of Canada. Erling's has also developed a computer minnow key, which is available free. One of his major contributions has been the compilation of The ROM Field Guide to the Freshwater Fishes of Ontario, with Nicholas Mandrak and Mary Burridge. Erling has also worked on the extensive collections of Indo-Pacific marine fishes that were collected by Richard Winterbottom and comprise about a third of the ROM’s fish collection.

In the area of conservation, Erling’s field work, publications, and professional service have focused on Ontario’s fishes at risk. He has authored 13 status reports on fishes written for the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and served on COSEWIC’s Freshwater Fishes Specialist Subcommittee as well as on recovery teams such as the Redside Dace Recovery Team. He also developed a Species at Risk Workshop, which he teaches every year with Jason Barnucz of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Erling has conducted several field trips to South America, a continent with the highest freshwater fish diversity, which is still poorly surveyed and where many species remain to be described. As a result of his fieldwork and the continuing fieldwork of ROM’s fish curator Hernán López-Fernández, the ROM’s collections of freshwater fishes (both specimens and tissues) from Guyana is one of the largest in the world. Much of it is out on loan to students and ichthyologists. In honour of Erling’s contribution of specimens for South Amercian taxonomic research, a small Peruvian characin, (Creagrutus holmi Vari and Harold, 2001), which he collected in the Andes, was named after him.

When Erling is not working on fishes, he enjoys hiking, cycling, yoga, cooking, fish photography, and spending time with his wife, Deborah and his three grown children Emma, Peter and Lili.


Research Projects

The ROM's Department of Natural History will once again be offering Fish Identification Workshops in the spring of 2014. Three-day workshops will cover the bro

Contact

Erling Holm

Erling Holm

Conservateur adjoint

Domaine : Natural History

Expositions et galeries La vie en péril : Galerie Schad de la biodiversité, Galerie Famille Patrick et Barbara Keenan de la biodiversité interactive

Tél. : 416.586.5760

Biographie

Baccalauréat en biologie, Université de Toronto, 1973

Erling Holm est conservateur adjoint de l’ichtyologie au Département d’histoire naturelle.

Né au Danemark en 1950, Erling Holm a immigré à Toronto en 1958 avec ses parents, son frère et ses deux sœurs. Étudiant à l’Université de Toronto, il passait ses étés à faire le levé de lacs et cours d’eau pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en 1973, il a continué de travailler pour le Ministère : il identifiait de petits échantillons de poissons dans le cadre des Techniques de classification écologique des rivières et des cours d'eau de l'Ontario. En octobre 1977, il est devenu adjoint à la conservation au Département d’ichtyologie et d’herpétologie du ROM sous l’égide d’E.J. Crossman. Il y gérait la collection de poissons du Musée, en croissance rapide, et il y effectuait de la recherche et des travaux sur le terrain.

Erling Holm acquiert les poissons pour la collection, les préserve, les identifie, les catalogue et les documente. C’est lui qui fournit les données sur les poissons et qui gère les prêts, échanges et dons de spécimens et de tissus. Il tient à jour la base de données ichtyologiques du ROM, qu’on peut consulter sur les sites suivants : Global Biodiversity Information Facility, le Système canadien d’information sur la biodiversitéVertnet et Fishnet2.

M. Holm s’intéresse aussi à la conservation et à la taxonomie des poissons. Autorité des poissons ontariens, il aide fréquemment des organisations et des individus à identifier des espèces. C’est lui qui a créé les populaires ateliers d’identification de poissons du ROM, qui ont attiré plus de 800 spécialistes de pêcheries ces dix dernières années. Ces ateliers annuels se donnent depuis les deux dernières semaines d’avril jusqu’à la première semaine de mai. Il a écrit des guides d’identification informatisés et est en train de réviser les clés d’identification de Poissons d'eau douce du Canada de Scott et Crossman (1973). Il a aussi conçu une clé d’identification Web gratuite pour les ménés. Il a également, en collaboration avec Nicholas Mandrak et Mary Burridge, compilé les données du ROM Field Guide to the Freshwater Fishes of Ontario. Enfin, il a étudié les vastes collections de poissons marins indopacifiques réunis par Richard Winterbottom, qui représentent environ le tiers de la collection ichtyologique du Musée.

Il s’intéresse aussi à la conservation : ses publications et ses travaux sur le terrain et au Musée portent essentiellement sur les espèces menacées de l’Ontario. Il a rédigé 13 rapports sur la situation de certains poissons pour le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), siégé au Sous-comité de spécialistes des espèces – poissons d’eau douce du COSEPAC et participé à des équipes chargées du rétablissement d’espèces comme le méné long. Il est le créateur d’un atelier annuel sur les espèces menacées qu’il enseigne en collaboration avec Jason Barnucz de Pêches et Océans Canada.

M. Holm s’est livré à plusieurs études sur le terrain en Amérique du Sud, continent qui se distingue par l’extrême diversité de ses poissons d’eau douce. Malheureusement, on connaît encore très peu les espèces qui y vivent, dont beaucoup n’ont pas été décrites. Cependant, grâce à ses travaux et à ceux d’Hernán López-Fernández, conservateur d’ichtyologie du ROM, la collection de spécimens et de tissus de poissons d’eau douce du Guyana réunie par le Musée compte parmi les plus importantes au monde, pour le plus grand bénéfice des étudiants et des ichtyologues qui les étudient. En l’honneur de son apport concret à la taxonomie des espèces sud-américaines, on a donné son nom à un petit characidé péruvien, (Creagrutus holmi Vari et Harold, 2001), qu’il avait trouvé dans les Andes.

Dans ses loisirs, il pratique la randonnée pédestre, le yoga, la cuisine et la photographie de poissons. Il aime passer du temps avec sa femme Deborah et ses trois enfants adultes : Emma, Peter et Lili.


Photos

Contact