Tim Dickinson

Tim Dickinson in the field, taking notes on a small hawthorn in British Columbia in August 2010.

Tim Dickinson

Senior Curator

Area: Natural History

Phone: 416.586.8032

Bio

B.Sc., Botany and Biochemistry, McGill University, 1969
M.Sc., Biology, McGill University, 1974
Ph.D., Plant Systematics, University of Western Ontario, 1983

Timothy A. Dickinson is Senior Curator of Botany at the Museum, and oversees the ROM's Green Plant Herbarium (TRT).

As a child, Tim was intrigued by illustrations in science books of things like pollen tubes and flatworms, and he would look for pollen tubes in the flowers of discarded Easter lilies. In high school, he talked his way into a scientist's lab at a nearby university, where he learned how to section planaria, a flatworm that he collected under rocks in a suburban stream, cultured, and embedded in plastic. Nothing came of his attempt to create giant planaria by treating them with a carcinogen, or by keeping them in a greased bowl, but the planaria did reproduce, and he learned about basic lab methods and microscopy.

In university, Tim enjoyed learning about plants and fungi in small botany classes. After graduation, he found a job in the herpetology department of a university museum cataloguing specimens collected from around the world, many of them by his boss’ graduate students. After he audited a vertebrate evolution course, he decided that he would rather be a graduate student than a curatorial assistant, and returned to the discipline of botany for his field of study.

For his M.Sc. research, Tim studied two plants in which the flower clusters are found on the leaves, instead of being attached to the stems. He found that in the case of Helwingia japonica, the flower cluster arises in the “normal” location, but is then carried up onto the leaf blade as the leaf develops. In Phyllonoma integerrima, however, the flower cluster actually arises just below the tip of the young leaf. This work left him unsatisfied, because it was all done in the lab using specimens primarily collected by others.

Tim’s Ph.D. research on hawthorns gave him a chance to work both in the field and in the lab, and began his career of trying to understand the relationship between hawthorn taxonomy and hawthorn reproductive biology. As a cross-appointed Associate Professor of Botany in the University of Toronto’s Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Tim and his students are documenting hawthorn reproductive behavior and working to develop an appropriate classification.

In addition to his many scientific publications arising from his research endeavours, Tim is also a co-author of The ROM Field Guide to Wildflowers of Ontario, which earned the Canadian Museums Association Award for “Outstanding Achievement in Canadian Museum Publishing” in 2004.


Research Projects

Less than 10% of the planet’s estimated 100 million species have been identified and described.

Contact

Tim Dickinson

Tim Dickinson

Conservateur principal

Domaine : Natural History

Tél. : 416.586.8032

Biographie

B.Sc., Botanique et biochimie, Université McGill, 1969
M.Sc., Biologie, Université McGill, 1974
Ph.D., Phytotaxonomie, Université Western Ontario
, 1983

Conservateur principal en botanique, Timothy A. Dickinson supervise l’Herbier de plantes vertes (TRT) du Musée.

Enfant, Tim était intrigué par les illustrations d’entités biologiques comme les tubes polliniques ou les vers plats dans les manuels scientifiques, et il examinait des lis de Pâques jetés au rebut, à la recherche de tubes polliniques. À l’école secondaire, il a réussi à avoir ses entrées dans le laboratoire d’une université voisine, où il a appris à disséquer des planaires, vers plats qu’il trouvait en banlieue sous les roches d’un ruisseau, dont il faisait la culture et qu’il enrobait de plastique. S’il n’est pas parvenu à créer des planaires géantes en leur donnant une substance carcinogène ou en les gardant dans un bol aux parois graissées, ses vers se sont bel et bien reproduits et il a ainsi appris les rudiments des techniques de laboratoire et de la microscopie.

À l’université, M. Dickinson prenait plaisir à entendre parler des plantes et des champignons dans ses petites classes de botanique. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, il a trouvé un emploi un département d’herpétologie d’un musée universitaire, où il cataloguait des spécimens prélevés partout dans le monde, dont beaucoup par les étudiants diplômés de son supérieur. Après avoir suivi un cours sur l’évolution des vertébrés en tant qu’étudiant libre, il a décidé de faire des étudies supérieures en botanique plutôt que de rester adjoint à la conservation.

Pour son mémoire de maîtrise, M. Dickinson a étudié deux plantes où l’inflorescence pousse sur les feuilles, plutôt qu’à l’extrémité du pétiole. Il a trouvé que, dans le cas de Helwingia japonica, l’inflorescence apparaît là où on l’attend normalement mais qu’elle finit par se trouver sur le limbe à mesure que la feuille se développe. Pour ce qui est de Phyllonoma integerrima, l’inflorescence surgit à la naissance de la feuille qui vient de se dérouler. Sa maîtrise lui a cependant laissé un sentiment d’insatisfaction, parce que ce n’est pas lui qui prélevait les spécimens sur le terrain et qu’il devait se tenir confiné au laboratoire.

Sa thèse de doctorat sur les aubépines lui a donné la chance de travailler non seulement en laboratoire mais aussi sur le terrain. C’est à cette occasion que sa carrière a démarré et qu’il s’est mis à essayer de comprendre les liens entre la taxonomie des aubépines et leur biologie reproductive. Également professeur associé de botanique au Département d’écologie et de biologie évolutionniste de l’Université de Toronto, M. Dickinson documente, avec l’aide de ses étudiants, la biologie de la reproduction des espèces d’aubépine et tente de les classifier.

En plus des publications scientifiques qu’il a écrites dans son domaine, il a aussi corédigé The ROM Field Guide to Wildflowers of Ontario qui a obtenu en 2004 le Prix d'excellence dans la catégorie des publications de l’Association des musées canadiens.

 

 

Projets de recherche

 

Initiative canadienne de codage des êtres vivants

 

On a identifié et décrit moins de 10 % de la centaine de millions d’espèces de la planète.

Contact