Richard Winterbottom

Richard Winterbottom

Curator Emeritus

Area: Natural History

Phone: 416.586.5894

Bio

Ph.D., Biology, Queen’s University, 1971

Rick Winterbottom is a Curator Emeritus of Ichthyology at the ROM and is a cross-appointed Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the University of Toronto.

Rick’s life-long interest in fishes began at an early age as a juvenile fisherman on the banks of the Zambezi River in Zambia. It progressed from there to spearfishing, and ultimately to a professional career in evolutionary biology and ichthyology. After an undergraduate degree from the University of Cape Town, he completed a Ph.D. in Biology at Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario followed by post-doctoral fellowships at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C. and the Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa. A three-year tenure as Senior Lecturer in Zoology at Rhodes University, South Africa followed, with the subsequent appointment as a Curator of Fishes at the ROM in 1978.

Rick’s fish research has largely been in generating hypotheses of interrelationships of various groups (especially Indo-Pacific coral reef and mangrove fishes), and then applying them to increase our understanding of the course of evolution and biogeography. The resulting insights have led to empirically defended ideas of the evolution of different feeding strategies, the sequences of morphological changes, the characters associated with differential timings of developmental trajectories, the historical assemblages of marine faunas, and the bioenergetic cycles of coral reefs. These ideas are then applied to developing strategies for the most effective ways to protect coral reefs from over-exploitation and destruction (conservation management).

To provide materials for this wide-ranging research program, he has undertaken about 20 field expeditions to coral reefs ranging from north-eastern South Africa and the Comoro Islands to the Society Islands, and from Vietnam to the Great Barrier Reef of Australia. This fieldwork involves extensive use of scuba gear to depths of about 50 metres.

His cross-appointment at the University of Toronto has allowed him the opportunity to train numerous graduate students and post-doctoral fellows, as well as contributing to the department's undergraduate program.


Research Projects

Less than 10% of the planet’s estimated 100 million species have been identified and described.

Contact

Richard Winterbottom

Richard Winterbottom

Conservateur émérite

Domaine : Natural History

Tél. : 416.586.5894

Biographie

Doctorat en biologie, Université Queen’s, 1971

Rick Winterbottom est conservateur émérite en ichtyologie au ROM et professeur au Département d’écologie et de biologie évolutionnaire à l’Université de Toronto.

M. Winterbottom s’intéresse aux poissons depuis qu’enfant, il les pêchait sur les rives du Zambèze, en Zambie. Après s’être initié à la pêche au harpon, il a décidé d’étudier la biologie évolutionnaire et l’ichtyologie. Après avoir obtenu son baccalauréat à l’Université du Cap, il a fait un doctorat en biologie à l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston (Ontario), puis a suivi un programme de bourses postdoctorales à la Smithsonian Institution de Washington et au Musée canadien de la nature à Ottawa. Il a été ensuite maître de conférences en zoologie pendant trois ans à l’Université Rhodes en Afrique du Sud, avant de devenir conservateur en poissons au ROM en 1978.

Dans ses travaux, M. Winterbottom prend généralement comme hypothèse qu’il existe des relations symbiotiques entre plusieurs groupes de poissons (chez les poissons des récifs coralliens de l’Indo-Pacifique et les poissons des mangroves surtout), puis vérifie son hypothèse afin de mieux comprendre le cours de l’évolution et la biogéographie. C’est ainsi qu’il en venu à émettre ses idées – confirmées par les faits – sur l’évolution des stratégies d'alimentation, l’ordre des changements morphologiques, les caractères associés à chaque étape du développement, l’évolution des biosystèmes d’animaux marins et les cycles bioénergétiques de récifs. Il s’en sert ensuite pour élaborer des stratégies permettant de protéger les récifs de la surexploitation et de la destruction.

Pour rassembler toutes ces données, M. Winterbottom a entrepris une vingtaine d’expéditions dans les récifs du nord-est de l’Afrique du Sud, des îles Comores, des îles de la Société, du Vietnam et de la Grande Barrière en Australie. Pour ce faire, il a régulièrement dû plonger à des profondeurs de quelque 50 mètres en scaphandre autonome.

Professeur à l’Université de Toronto, M. Winterbottom a formé de nombreux étudiants de cycle supérieur et détenteurs de bourses postdoctorales, et contribué au programme de baccalauréat du département.

 


Projets de recherche

 

Initiative canadienne de codage des êtres vivants

On a identifié et décrit moins de 10 % de la centaine de millions d’espèces de la planète.

Contact