Peter Kaellgren

Peter Kaellgren

Curator Emeritus

Area: World Cultures

Bio

M.A., Museum Studies, University of Toronto, 1971
Ph.D., Art History & Decorative Arts, University of Delaware, 1987

Peter Kaellgren joined the European Department in 1972 and has worked as a curator building up the collections of ceramics, glass, silver, furniture, metalwork and design graphics. His specialty is decorative arts post-1500 AD with an emphasis on British material. Peter played a key role in creating the Samuel European Galleries. Between 1985 and 1989, he worked on the north section in the Hilary and Galen Weston Wing and from 1991 to 1994 headed the curatorial team that developed the south section in the Weston Family Wing. Recent exhibition work includes coordinating Art Deco 1910-1939 (major loan exhibition organized by the Victoria and Albert Museum), Fall 2003, and developing Déco Lalique, the glass of René Lalique and his imitators drawn from the ROM’s collections, December 2005 to January 2007.

His Master’s thesis was Chinoiserie in English Silver, and his doctoral dissertation, Stately and Formal: Side, Pier and Console tables in England, 1700-1800, examines the evolution of design and use of formal tables in architectural settings. Since 1986, Peter’s research has concentrated primarily on silver, coinciding with a tremendous growth in the silver collection as a result of gifts and bequests and resulting in small ROM silver exhibitions in 1991 and 1999 to 2002.

Among his current research projects, Peter is updating his manuscript on early English silver toys, c. 1685 to 1750 AD, which includes biographies of important early makers in addition to a catalogue of the exceptional ROM collection. Peter is also updating the original 1936 catalogue for the Lord Lee of Fareham Collection, which includes important examples of English and Continental, pre-1700 silver and vertu. The catalogue will be expanded to include all the material that came to Canada. Peter writes a variety of scholarly articles.

Peter has taught and lectured widely. He has developed credit courses on the history of European ceramics and glass for the Fine Art Department at the University of Toronto and presented at ROM programs and symposia. He has lectured in Canada, the U.S.A., and Britain and provides a week-long antiques course at Sunbury Shores Arts and Nature Centre, St. Andrews, New Brunswick. Silver and Gold: Treasures, Fakes and Forgeries was the topic of the 18th annual Decorative Arts Symposium in 2008. The program was presented with the generous assistance of The Goldsmiths' Company of London, England.

Peter is a member of the American Ceramic Circle, the Decorative Arts Society (U.S.A.), the National American Glass Club, the Canadian Society of Decorative Arts (founding member), the Silver Society of Canada (founding member), Glasfax (Canada), and in the United Kingdom, the Furniture History Society, the Glass Circle and the Silver Society. He has provided talks and tours for a number of these societies and contributed to their journals. He is an alumnus of the Attingham Summer School and Royal Collections Studies.

Other Links

Gardiner Museum - Creamware Exhibition in the Focus Gallery June 27 - December 4, 2011.

Contact

Peter Kaellgren

Peter Kaellgren

Conservateur émérite

Domaine : World Cultures

Biographie

Maîtrise en études muséales, Université de Toronto, 1971
Doctorat en histoire de l'art et en arts décoratifs, Université du Delaware, 1987

M. Kaellgren est entré au Département européen du ROM en 1972 et il s'occupe depuis lors des collections de céramique, de verre, de mobilier et d'argenterie du Musée. Spécialiste de l'art décoratif à compter du XVIe siècle, il aime tout particulièrement les pièces britanniques. Il a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'aménagement des Galeries européennes Samuel. De 1985 à 1989, il s’est occupé de la section nord de l’aile Hilary et Galen Weston et, de 1991 à 1994, il a été à la tête de l’équipe des conservateurs qui a organisé la section sud de l’aile de la famille Weston. Ses récentes expositions comprennent Art déco 1910-1939, à l’automne 2003, organisée par le Musée Victoria and Albert, et Déco Lalique (sur la verrerie de René Lalique et ses imitateurs), de décembre 2005 à janvier 2007.

Le mémoire de maîtrise de M. Kaellgren s’intitulait Chinoiserie in English Silver; sa thèse de doctorat Stately and Formal: Side, Pier and Console tables in England, 1700-1800 examinait l’évolution du design et de l’utilisation des tables dans l’architecture. Depuis 1986, ses recherches, principalement sur l’argenterie, ont permis une expansion phénoménale de la collection d’orfèvrerie du ROM à la suite de dons et l’organisation de petites expositions sur ce thème, l’une en 1991 et l’autre de 1999 à 2002.

Un des projets de M. Kaellgren consiste en la mise à jour de son manuscrit sur les premiers jouets britanniques en argent (v. 1685 à 1750). Cet ouvrage contient des biographies d’importants fabricants de l’époque, ainsi que le catalogue de la collection exceptionnelle du ROM. Il met aussi à jour le catalogue original de 1936 de la collection du lord Lee de Fareham, qui comporte d’importants échantillons de pièces d’orfèvrerie et d’objets d’art anglais et continentaux, antérieurs au XVIIIe siècle. Il y ajoutera les œuvres en provenance du Canada. Il est également l’auteur d’un grand nombre d’articles spécialisés.

M. Kaellgren a enseigné et donné de nombreuses conférences. Il a élaboré des cours ouvrant droit à des crédits sur l’histoire européenne de la céramique et de la verrerie pour le département des beaux-arts de l’Université de Toronto et fait des communications dans le cadre des programmes du ROM et de divers colloques. Il a prononcé des conférences au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Grande-Bretagne, et donne un cours d’une semaine sur les antiquités pour le Sunbury Shores Arts and Nature Centre, à St. Andrews, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Le 18e Symposium annuel des arts décoratifs, en 2008, avait pour thème Argent et or : faux et trésors et bénéficiait du généreux soutien de la Goldsmiths’ Company de Londres.

Membre de l’American Ceramic Circle, de la Decorative Arts Society (É.-U.), du National American Glass Club, du Cercle canadien des arts décoratifs (membre fondateur), de la Silver Society of Canada (membre fondateur), de Glasfax (Canada) et, au Royaume-Uni, de la Furniture History Society, du Glass Circle et de la Silver Society, M. Kaellgren a organisé des débats et des visites pour certaines de ces sociétés et rédigé des articles pour leur revue. Il est ancien étudiant de l’Attingham Summer School, dont il a suivi les Royal Collections Studies.

 

Autre lien

Musée Gardiner - Exposition de faïence anglaise dans la galerie principale, du 27 juin au 4 décembre 2011

Contact