Laura Lipcsei

Laura Lipcsei

Laura Lipcsei

Senior Conservator, Ceramics, Stone and Glass

Area: Conservation

Phone: 416.586.5710

Bio

Laura Lipcsei secured her Bachelor of Arts Honours Classics and Archaeology at Queen’s University in 1992 and returned to Queen’s to complete her Master of Art Conservation in 2001.  In the interim, she obtained her Master of Art, Ancient Studies degree at the University of Toronto in 1994.  Laura has worked at museums across North America, including the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City.  She has worked as site conservator and excavated as an archaeologist for projects in Italy, Greece, Turkey and Tunisia.  As a result of her training and experience Laura has a special interest in the art of the Ancient Mediterranean.  Over the course of her career, Laura has travelled extensively with touring exhibitions and loan programs to Asia and Europe.

As Senior Conservator of Ceramics, Stone and Glass, Laura is responsible for a diverse group of archaeological, fine and decorative art objects at the ROM.  In addition to examination and conservation treatment, her work includes the use of scientific tools of analysis to better understand an object’s composition and technique of manufacture in order to develop preservation and treatment protocols and answer questions related to authenticity.  Laura has an interest in environmental conservation and preservation with special focus on materials used in display and in storage facilities. Together with other conservators from the department, Laura co-teaches an introductory course on art conservation at the University of Toronto.

Current projects involve the cleaning of two 17th to 18th century monumental Chinese marble sculptures, the Chinese Guardian Lions, which flank the East Entrance to the Museum; and the desalination and reconstruction of a Lebes Gamikos, an Ancient Greek red figure matrimonial vase and stand, possibly attributed to Washing Painter and dated to the 5th century B.C.

 


Photos and Videos

Contact

Laura Lipcsei

Laura Lipcsei

Restauratrice principale, Céramique, pierre et verre

Tél. : 416.586.5710

Biographie

Après avoir terminé en 1992 son baccalauréat ès arts spécialisé en études classiques et en archéologie à l’Université Queen’s, Laura Lipcsei y est retournée pour faire sa maîtrise en restauration en 2001. Dans l’entre-deux, elle a obtenu en 1994 sa maîtrise ès arts, spécialisée en études anciennes, à l’Université de Toronto. Elle a travaillé dans un certain nombre de musées nord-américains, dont le Musée des beaux-arts de Boston et le Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York. Elle a effectué de la restauration sur place et des fouilles archéologiques pour des projets en Italie, en Grèce, en Turquie et en Tunisie. Sa formation et son expérience l’ont amenée à développer un intérêt particulier pour l’art antique méditerranéen. Elle voyage beaucoup en Asie et en Europe dans le cadre sa profession : elle suit les expositions itinérantes ou les collections prêtées à d’autres musées.

Restauratrice principale, Céramique, pierre et verre, au ROM, Mme Lipcsei s’occupe d’un groupe varié d’objets archéologiques, artistiques et décoratifs. En plus d’examiner et de restaurer ces objets, elle  analyse leur composition et leur procédé de fabrication à l’aide d’outils perfectionnés, afin d’assurer leur authenticité et d’élaborer des protocoles de préservation et de traitement. Elle s’intéresse à la conservation environnementale, et surtout aux matériaux utilisés dans les expositions et dans les salles d’entreposage. Avec d’autres restaurateurs du département, elle enseigne à l’Université de Toronto un cours d’introduction à la restauration.

Ces derniers temps, elle nettoie deux monumentales sculptures de marbre chinoises des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles (les lions gardiens qui accueillaient jadis les visiteurs à l’entrée est du Musée), et dessale et remet à neuf un vase nuptial grec à figures rouges du Ve siècle avant J.-C., attribué au Peintre des baigneuses.

Contact