Kim Tait

Portrait of Kim Tait

Kim Tait

Curator

Area: Natural History, Earth & Space

Interests: hockey, camping, hiking

Phone: 416.586.5820

Bio

B.Sc. (1st class Honours), Geology, University of Manitoba, 1999
M.Sc., Geology, University of Manitoba, 2002
Ph.D., Geosciences, University of Arizona, 2007
FCGmA (Fellow of the Canadian Gemmological Association), 2009

Kimberly Tait is a Curator of Mineralogy and oversees mineralogical, gemmological and meteoritic research at the ROM. She is also a cross-appointed Assistant Professor in the Department of Geology at the University of Toronto.

Before Kim could even spell the word “geologist”, she knew that was what she wanted to be when she grew up. Picking up rocks and minerals and bringing them home for her own collection, and even asking her father to pull the car over on the side of the road to look at rocks was not uncommon, even at a very young age. When she was 10 years old, her family moved to Hamilton, Ontario and a geologist and micro-mount collector lived down the street. He would take her collecting, showed her his mineral collection, and even gave her a Mineral encyclopedia signed “To the Future Mineralogist”.

Kim started studying geology at the University of Manitoba, and although many of aspects of geology interested her, her 2nd year mineralogy course definitely stuck out as her favorite. It gave her the opportunity to learn about different types of minerals, how to identify them, and the chemical formulas that apply to each of them.

Kim's research has led to publications on new mineral structures and the nomenclature of mineral groups. She has worked on the alluaudite-group minerals, a group of phosphate and arsenate minerals that were poorly characterized. She is also interested in non-ambient mineralogy, such as high-pressure and low- or high-temperature phases, using both neutron and X-ray diffraction and scattering techniques. A majority of her research for her Ph.D was performed at the Los Alamos Neutron Scattering Center (LANSCE), which is a major experimental science facility located in Los Alamos, New Mexico. Several of her experiments at LANSCE were on materials that either form or change properties at extreme conditions, such as gas hydrates and some sulfate minerals that are expected to form on the surface of Mars. She also performs experiments at the Argonne National Laboratory, Advanced Photon Source (APS) in Illinois. Typically, the experiments at the APS are at high-pressure (10-80 GPa) and use a diamond anvil cell to simulate how the crystal-structure (atomic make-up of a mineral) will behave under such conditions. This kind of research will help us better understand the dynamics and structure of the Earth and other planetary interiors.

Kim was also a coordinator of the ROM exhibit Water: The Exhibition, an innovative show that illustrates the indispensable roles that water plays in our world.

Other Links

Kim Tait

Portrait de Kim Tait

Kim Tait

Conservatrice, titulaire de la Chaire Teck de minéralogie

Domaine : Natural History, Earth & Space

Centres d'intérêt : Hockey, camping, randonnée

Tél. : 416.586.5820

Biographie

Baccalauréat ès sciences (mention très honorable), géologie, Université du Manitoba, 1999
Maîtrise ès sciences, géologie, Université du Manitoba, 2002

Doctorat en sciences de la Terre, Université de l’Arizona, 2007
FCGmA de gemmologie, Canadian Gemmological Association, janvier 2009

Mme Kimberly Tait, conservatrice en minéralogie, est responsable des recherches menées dans les domaines de la minéralogie, des météorites et des pierres précieuses au ROM. Elle est également professeure adjointe à l’Université de Toronto.

Avant même de savoir épeller le mot « géologue » , Mme Tait savait ce qu'elle voulait faire plus tard.Il lui arrivait souvent, et dès sa plus tendre enfance, de collectionner les pierres et les minéraux, et même de demander à son père d’arrêter la voiture pour qu’elle puisse regarder les roches. Sa famille a déménagé à Hamilton, en Ontario, lorsqu’elle avait 10 ans. Un géologue collectionneur de micro-spécimens habitait la même rue. Il l’amenait avec lui dans ses chasses aux minéraux, lui montrait sa collection et lui a même donné une encyclopédie sur le sujet qu’il a dédiée à une « future minéralogiste ».

Kim Tait a étudié la géologie à l’Université du Manitoba, où elle a adoré le cours de minéralogie en 2e année même si elle s’intéressait aussi à d'autres volets de la géologie. Elle a appris dans ce cours à distinguer et à identifier les minéraux, et à connaître leurs formules chimiques.

MmeMme Tait a publié des articles sur les structures de nouveaux minéraux et sur la nomenclature inorganique. Elle a étudié les alluaudites, groupe de phosphates et d’arséniates mal compris. Elle s’intéresse également à la minéralogie aux températures non ambiantes – par exemple, aux phases sous haute pression et à des températures extrêmes – qu’elle étudie grâce à la diffractométrie et à la diffusométrie neutronique et radiographique.Elle a mené la plus grande partie de ses recherches doctorales au Centre de diffusion nuetronique de Los Alamos (LANSCE), un important centre d’expériences scientifiques situé à Los Alamos, au Nouveau-Mexique. Plusieurs expériences réalisées au LANSCE portaient sur des matériaux qui acquièrent de nouvelles propriétés ou dont les propriétés changent dans des conditions extrêmes tels que les hydrates de gaz et certains minéraux sulfurés qui se formeraient à la surface de la planète Mars.  Mme Tait fait aussi des expériences au Laboratoire national d’Argonne, dans l’Illinois. Les expériences au synchrotron APS sont habituellement effectuées à haute pression (10-80 GPa) avec une cellule à enclumes de diamant afin de simuler le comportement de la structure cristalline (composition atomique d’un minéral) dans ce contexte. Ce type de recherche nous aidera à comprendre la dynamique et la structure de l’intérieur de la Terre et d’autres planètes.

Kim Tait était coordonnatrice de L’eau, une exposition, concept inventif où le ROM illustrait l’importance de l’eau dans le monde.

.Autres liens

ATTENTION

Nous éprouvons présentement des problèmes intermittents avec notre messagerie vocale. Si vous tentez de laisser un message dans notre boîte vocale, envoyez-nous votre question par courriel à info@rom.on.ca. Nous vous répondrons dès que possible. Merci de votre patience.