Jean-Marc Moncalvo

Jean-Marc Moncalvo

Senior Curator

Area: Natural History

Phone: 416.586.5522

Bio

Ph.D., University of Lausanne, Switzerland, 1991

Jean-Marc Moncalvo is the Senior Curator of Mycology in the Department of Natural History at the ROM, and a cross-appointed Professor in the Departments of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Cell and Systems Biology at the University of Toronto.

Jean-Marc grew up on the shore of Lake Geneva and in the Swiss Alps. After completing his Ph.D. at the University of Lausanne, and a modest career in soccer, he travelled extensively throughout Asia with his wife Jasmine and spent three years as a visiting scientist at National Taiwan University in Taipei. He then moved with his family to North America to work as a research associate in the Department of Biology at Duke University in North Carolina. Jean-Marc joined the ROM in 2002 to take over responsibility for the extensive fungal collection.

Jean-Marc's research deals with molecular systematics, taxonomy, phylogeographic relationships, biological diversity and ecology of fungi, particularly of gilled mushrooms. He has published over 60 papers in scientific journals and books, and is regularly invited to talk at departmental seminars, international conferences, and mycology workshops. At the University of Toronto, Jean-Marc teaches an undergraduate course on fungi and a graduate course on molecular phylogenetics, and supervises graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

His research has been supported by many funding agencies, including the Société Académique Vaudoise in Switzerland, the National Swiss Foundation for Scientific Research, the Microbiological Research Foundation of the Republic of China, the A.W. Mellon Foundation, the U.S. National Science Foundation, the U.S. National Park Service, the National Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, the Canada Foundation for Innovation, Genome Canada, the Sustainable Forest Management Network, and the ROM Governors.


Research Projects

Less than 10% of the planet’s estimated 100 million species have been identified and described.

Contact

Jean-Marc Moncalvo

Jean-Marc Moncalvo

Conservateur principal

Domaine : Natural History

Tél. : 416.586.5522

Biographie

Doctorat de l’Université de Lausanne, Suisse, 1991

Jean-Marc Moncalvo est le conservateur principal de mycologie au Département d’histoire naturelle du ROM; il est également professeur aux départements d’écologie et biologie évolutive et de biologie cellulaire et systémique à l’Université de Toronto.

M. Moncalvo a grandi à proximité du lac Léman, dans les Alpes suisses. Après l’obtention de son doctorat à l’Université de Lausanne et une modeste carrière au soccer, il a beaucoup voyagé en Asie en compagnie de son épouse Jasmine; pendant trois ans, il a été scientifique invité à l’Université nationale de Taïwan, à Taipei. Il a ensuite déménagé avec sa famille en Amérique du Nord afin d’occuper un poste d’assistant à la recherche au département de biologie de l’Université Duke (Caroline du Nord). Jean-Marc s’est joint au ROM en 2002 pour prendre en charge son imposante collection mycologique.

Les recherches de M. Moncalvo portent sur la systématique moléculaire, la taxinomie, les relations phylogéographiques, la diversité biologique et l’écologie des champignons, et plus particulièrement sur les champignons à lamelles. Régulièrement invité à prendre la parole lors de séminaires universitaires, de rencontres internationales et d’ateliers sur la mycologie, il a publié plus de 60 articles dans des revues et livres scientifiques. À l’Université de Toronto, M. Moncalvo donne un cours de premier cycle en mycologie et un cours de niveau supérieur sur la phylogénétique moléculaire; il supervise également des étudiants des cycles supérieurs et des titulaires de bourses postdoctorales.

Dans le cadre de ses recherches, il a bénéficié du soutien de plusieurs organismes de financement, y compris la Société Académique Vaudoise en Suisse, le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique, la fondation pour la recherche en microbiologie de la République de Chine, la Fondation A.W. Mellon, la National Science Foundation et le National Park Service des États-Unis, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, Génome Canada, le Réseau de gestion durable des forêts et les gouverneurs du ROM.

Projets de recherche

 

Initiative canadienne de codage des êtres vivants

 

On a identifié et décrit moins de 10 % de la centaine de millions d’espèces de la planète.

 

 

Contact