Helen Coxon

Helen Coxon

Helen Coxon

Senior Conservator, Preventive Conservation

Area: Conservation

Phone: 416.586.5897

Bio

Studying archaeology as part of an undergraduate degree led Helen directly to the field of Conservation.  She worked on excavations in Roman London, Bristol’s waterfront and the wilds of upper Teesdale before moving to Toronto.

Helen moved into objects conservation when she joined the staff of the ROM in 1987 to work on the conservation of arms and armour for the new European Gallery.  After many years of increasing involvement with environmental control and materials testing, she became the ROM’s first Preventive Conservation specialist in 2006.

In her time at the ROM Helen has been involved with everything from armour to plastics to textiles and ethnographic material, but now focusses on climate control for objects on display and in storage, pest control, and safe materials for use in the conservation and display of the collections.  She has a particular interest in indoor air quality – not just temperature and humidity, but air pollutants and particulates and their effect on artifact materials.

Education

B.A. (Arts), University of Durham, 1982

Diploma in Archaeological Conservation, University of Durham, 1986


Recent Publications

Year Publication
2007 Helen Coxon. "The Good, the Bad and the Frustrating: designing and implementing a climate control system at the Royal Ontario Museum." Museum Microclimates, 277-283. http://natmus.dk/fileadmin/user_upload/natmus/bevaringsafdelingen/billeder/far/M...

Contact

Helen Coxon

Helen Coxon

Restauratrice principale, Conservation préventive

Domaine : Conservation

Tél. : 416.586.5897

Biographie

La carrière de restauratrice de Mme Coxon est la suite logique de son baccalauréat en archéologie. Avant de déménager à Toronto, elle a participé à des fouilles dans la Londres romaine, le secteur riverain de Bristol et les landes de la région Upper Teesdale.

Mme Coxon est devenue restauratrice en se joignant en 1987 à l’équipe du ROM, avec laquelle elle travaillait à la restauration d’armes et d’armures pour les nouvelles Galeries européennes. Après avoir consacré de nombreuses années à la régulation des conditions ambiantes et à l’essai des matériaux (domaines où elle a joué un rôle de plus en plus important), elle est devenue en 2006 le premier spécialiste de la conservation préventive au ROM.

Mme Coxon a touché à tout depuis qu’elle est au ROM : elle a restauré des armures, des matières plastiques, des textiles et des matériaux ethnographiques. Maintenant, elle s’attache surtout à la régulation climatique des objets (exposés ou non), au contrôle des insectes, et à la sécurité des matériaux servant à la restauration et à l’exposition des collections. Elle s’intéresse principalement à la qualité de l’air intérieur – pas seulement la température et l’humidité, mais aussi les polluants atmosphériques et les matières particulaires, et leurs effets sur les matériaux dont se composent les artéfacts

Études

B.A. (Arts), Université de Durham, 1982

Diplôme en restauration archéologique, Université de Durham, 1986


Derniers numéros

Année Publication
2007 Helen Coxon. "The Good, the Bad and the Frustrating: designing and implementing a climate control system at the Royal Ontario Museum." Museum Microclimates, 277-283. http://natmus.dk/fileadmin/user_upload/natmus/bevaringsafdelingen/billeder/far/M...

Contact