Glenn B. Wiggins

Glenn B. Wiggins

Curator Emeritus

Area: Natural History, Biodiversity

Phone: 416.586.5894

Bio

Ph.D., Entomology, University of Toronto, 1958

IN MEMORIUM

Glenn Wiggins — Curator Emeritus of Entomology at the Royal Ontario Museum, and Professor Emeritus in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the University of Toronto — died in his sleep on July 7, 2013.

Glenn began his career at the ROM in 1952. His research, which he continued since retiring from the ROM in 1992, dealt with aquatic insects, especially the biosystematics of caddisflies (order Trichoptera) on which he published four books and more than 100 articles in scientific journals and books (see publications list below). During his curatorial tenure, he conducted an extensive program of field studies through much of North America, building for the ROM one of the major research collections of Trichoptera in the world. He was also actively engaged in the educational outreach programs of the Museum through organization of numerous public lectures and gallery displays. Permanent exhibits of live insects and recordings of insect songs were introduced into the Museum in a new Gallery of Arthropods, which he initiated in the 1970s. He was instrumental in the establishment of two new curatorial departments in the Museum – Botany in 1969 and Invertebrate Zoology in 1979. In 1968 he organized a successful application to the National Research Council of Canada for a Negotiated Development Grant to establish a new laboratory of analytical and molecular systematics in the Museum.

In 1988-1991 he served on the NSERC Grant Selection Committee for Evolution and Ecology. He presented numerous invitational lectures on aquatic entomology at various professional conferences and universities, and was a Visiting Professor conducting field courses in aquatic entomology at biological stations of several universities.

Glenn was an elected member of the Executive Board Entomological Society of Canada from 1979 to 1983, and President of the Society in 1981-82 (1981-82, 1983a). He was a founding member of the Society’s Biological Survey of Canada (Terrestrial Arthropods), serving on the Scientific Committee of the Survey from 1976 to 1991 (1991). As President of the Entomological Society, he became a member of the Biological Council of Canada in 1981 and was elected Vice-President, remaining on the BCC until 1985 (1983b, c). He was appointed as a Fellow of the Entomological Society of Canada in 1982 for major contributions to Entomology. He received the 1992 Gold Medal of the Entomological Society of Canada for outstanding achievement (1992e). In 2006 he was elected as an Honorary Member of the Entomological Society of Ontario.

Glenn's most recent publication, Biological Notes on an Old Farm: Exploring Common Things in the Kingdoms of Life, encourages us to stop and look at the smaller organisms such as plants, fungi, insects and bacteria that play important roles in sustaining life on Earth. This book received the Silver Medal for science in the Independent Publisher Book Awards, 2010.

Glenn Wiggins was truly a giant in his field and will be sorely missed.

SELECTED PUBLICATIONS

Wiggins, G.B. 2009. "Biological Notes on an Old Farm: Exploring Common Things in the Kingdoms of Life." Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto.

Wiggins, G.B. and D.C. Currie. 2008. "Trichoptera Families." In An Introduction to the Aquatic Insects of North America, edited by R.W. Merritt, K.W. Cummins, and M.B. Berg. Kendall/Hunt, Dubuque, Iowa (4th Edition Revised).

Wiggins, G.B. 2007. "Architects under water." American Entomologist, 53(2): 78-85.

COMPLETE LIST OF PUBLICATIONS BY DR. GLENN WIGGINS: pdf


Photos and Videos

Contact

Glenn B. Wiggins

Glenn B. Wiggins

Conservateur émérite

Domaine : Natural History

Tél. : 416.586.5894

Biographie

Doctorat en entomologie, Université de Toronto, 1958

Glenn Wiggins est conservateur émérite en entomologie au ROM et professeur émérite au Département d’écologie et de biologie évolutionnaire à l’Université de Toronto.

M. Wiggins est entré au ROM en 1952. Ses travaux, qu’il poursuit même s’il a pris sa retraite du Musée en 1992, portent sur les insectes aquatiques, notamment la classification des phryganes et autres membres de l’ordre des trichoptères, à propos desquels il a publié quatre livres et une centaine d’articles dans des ouvrages scientifiques (liste de ses publications ci-dessous). Conservateur, il a organisé de nombreuses recherches sur le terrain partout en Amérique du Nord et a fait de la collection de trichoptères du ROM l’une des plus grandes au monde. Il a également joué un rôle important dans les programmes pédagogiques du Musée en organisant de nombreuses conférences et expositions. Dans les années 1970, il a fondé la Galerie permanente des arthropodes, où le ROM montrait des insectes vivants et faisait écouter des enregistrements de chants d’insectes. Il a collaboré à la création de deux départements : la botanique en 1969 et la biologie des invertébrés en 1979. En 1968, c’est lui qui a demandé au Conseil national de recherches du Canada une subvention négociée de développement, qui nous a permis de créer un laboratoire de systématique analytique et moléculaire.

En 1988-1991, M. Wiggins a siégé au Comité de sélection des bourses en Évolution et écologie du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Il a prononcé plusieurs conférences sur la biologie des insectes aquatiques à des congrès professionnels et dans des universités. De plus, à titre de professeur invité, il a donné des cours pratiques de biologie des insectes aquatiques dans la station de biologie de plusieurs universités.

M. Wiggins a été membre élu du conseil de direction de la Société d'entomologie du Canada de 1979 à 1983 et en a été le président de 1981 à 1982 (1981-1982, 1983a). Il est l’un des fondateurs de la Commission biologique du Canada (arthropodes terrestres) de la Société et a siégé au Comité scientifique de la Commission de 1976 à 1991 (1991). Président de la Société, il est devenu automatiquement membre du Conseil canadien de biologie en 1981 et en a été élu vice-président. Il a continué d’y siéger jusqu’en 1985 (1983b, c). En 1982, la Société d'entomologie du Canada l’a nommé membre associé pour son apport considérable à l’entomologie et, en 1992, lui a décerné une médaille d’or pour sa contribution exceptionnelle (1992e). Enfin, la Société d'entomologie de l’Ontario l’a consacré membre honoraire en 2006.

Dans sa dernière publication, Biological Notes on an Old Farm: Exploring Common Things in the Kingdoms of Life, M. Wiggins nous encourage à prendre le temps d’observer les petits organismes (plantes, champignons, insectes, bactéries) qui jouent un rôle si important dans la biosphère. Couronné en 2010 par les Independent Publisher Book Awards, ce livre a reçu la médaille d’argent pour la science.

Contact