Deepali Dewan

Dr. Deepali Dewan, 2013. Photo Thy Phu.

Deepali Dewan

Senior Curator (South Asian Arts & Culture)

Area: World Cultures, Contemporary Culture, World Art & Culture

Interests: South Asia--19th & 20th century, Photography, Contemporary visual culture, Diasporic art, Historiography

Exhibitions & Galleries: Sir Christopher Ondaatje South Asian Gallery

Phone: 416.586.5698

Bio

B.A. (Honours), Art History, McGill University, 1993
M.A., Art History, University of Minnesota, 1995
Ph.D., Art History, University of Minnesota, 2001


Primary Collection Area: South Asia, Himalayan region (including Tibet)
Secondary Collection Area: Southeast Asia, Asian Photography (including China, Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia)

Dr. Deepali Dewan is an art historian with a special interest in South Asia. She is a curator at the Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto, teaches in the Department of Art at the University of Toronto and is affiliated with the Centre for South Asian Studies. She is also part of the Toronto Photography Seminar, a group of scholars from Ontario institutions who read, produce, and edit collaborative research concerning the history and theory of photography.

Dr. Dewan’s research interests encompass nineteenth and twentieth-century visual culture of South Asia and the South Asian Diaspora. Her work on colonial South Asia examines how art schools served as the link between the collection / circulation of objects and ideas in South Asian art history, particularly through the dynamics of "documentation" and "revival." Her research on contemporary art focuses on the work of specific artists as a way to map post-colonial visual practice. Her current research focuses on the history of photography in India with a view toward understanding how photography has shaped contemporary ways of viewing and being in the world.

Dr. Dewan's research has been presented as publications and exhibitions. She is the author of Raja Deen Dayal: Artist-Photographer in 19th-Century India (2013, co-authored with Deborah Hutton), Embellished Reality: Indian Painted Photographs (2012), and the editor of Bollywood Cinema Showcards: Indian Film Art from the 1950s to the 1980s (2011). All three were accompanied by exhibitions. In addition, her essays have been published in edited volumes and journals, including Photography and the Delhi Coronation Durbars, 1877-1911 (Julie Codell, editor, 2012), Voices of Change: 20 Indian Artists (Gayatri Sinha, editor, 2010), Confronting the Body: The Experience of Physicality in Modern South Asia (James Mills and Satadru Sen, editors, 2004), Imperial Co-Histories: National Identities and the British and Colonial Press (Julie Codell, editor, 2003), Photography and Culture, Trans Asia Photograph Review, and Visual Resources.

Dr. Dewan joined the Royal Ontario Museum in January 2002. Previously, she had worked at the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis and The Asia Society, New York City. She also served as a visiting instructor at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Minneapolis and at Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota. She has received fellowships from the Social Science Research Council, the American Institute of Indian Studies, the College Art Association, the MacArthur Program/Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change at the University of Minnesota, the Alkazi Foundation for the Arts, and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.


Research Projects

Inspired by an album of 168 cartes-de-visite of courtesans from various North Indian locations, mostly Lucknow, currently in the Royal Ontario Museum collection, this project examines the history o

This project examines an important genre of South Asian photography that is distinct in the history of the medium and that has not yet been adequately studied.

This project is an attempt to write a history of photography in India in a condensed format that can be used as a class text book.

This project analyses the photographic work of Raja Deen Dayal (1844-1905), arguably one of the most well-known and prolific photographers in 19th-century India, and his studios in Indore, Hyderaba

Contact

Authored by: Deepali Dewan

Authored by: Deepali Dewan

Deepali Dewan

Deepali Dewan

Conservatrice, Arts et culture de l'Asie du Sud

Domaine : World Cultures, Contemporary Culture, World Art & Culture

Tél. : 16.586.5698

Biographie

Baccalauréat en histoire de l'art, Université McGill, 1993
Maîtrise en histoire de l'art, Université du Minnesota, 1995
Doctorat en histoire de l'art, Université du Minnesota, 2001

Mme Deepali Dewan est une historienne de l’art spécialisée dans les cultures visuelles de l’Asie du Sud. Entrée au ROM en janvier 2002, elle y est maintenant conservatrice principale. Mme Dewan enseigne au département des beaux-arts de l’Université de Toronto. Elle est affiliée au Centre d’études sur l’Asie du Sud et membre du Toronto Photography Seminar, un groupe de chercheurs de divers établissements ontariens qui, en collaboration, étudient l’histoire et la théorie de la photographie et dirigent la rédaction d’ouvrages sur ce sujet.

Les recherches de Mme Dewan portent sur la culture visuelle de l’Asie du Sud aux XIXe et XXe siècles et de la diaspora sud-asiatique. Dans ses travaux sur la période coloniale, elle montre comment les écoles d’art ont contribué à la collection et à la circulation des œuvres et des idées – et particulièrement la documentation et les mouvements de renaissance artistique. , examinent les rapports entre les débuts de l’enseignement des beaux-arts, la circulation des objets et le développement des connaissances en histoire de l’art. Par ailleurs, elle étudie les œuvres de certains artistes contemporains afin de définir le contexte plus vaste de l’art visuel postcolonial. Elle s’intéresse depuis peu à l’histoire de la photographie en Inde afin de saisir son influence sur les modes actuels d’appréhension du monde.

Mme Dewan a rédigé plusieurs articles et a été la commissaire de nombreuses expositions. Elle est l’auteure de Raja Deen Dayal: Artist-Photographer in 19th-Century India (2013, en collaboration avec Deborah Hutton) et d’Embellished Reality: Indian Painted Photographs (2012) et elle a dirigé la publication de Bollywood Cinema Showcards: Indian Film Art from the 1950s to the 1980s (2011). Ces livres accompagnaient des expositions sur les mêmes thèmes. Elle a aussi publié des articles dans des ouvrages et des revues, notamment Photography and the Delhi Coronation Durbars, 1877-1911 (sous la direction de Julie Codell, 2012), Voices of Change: 20 Indian Artists (sous la direction de Gayatri Sinha, 2010), Confronting the Body: The Experience of Physicality in Modern South Asia (sous la direction de James Mills et Satadru Sen, 2004), Imperial Co-Histories: National Identities and the British and Colonial Press (sous la direction de Julie Codell, 2003), Photography and CultureTrans Asia Photograph Review et Visual Ressources.

Avant de se joindre au Musée en janvier 2002, elle a travaillé au Walker Art Center à Minneapolis et l’Asia Society à New York. Elle a, en outre, enseigné l’histoire de l’art de l’Asie du Sud et l’art contemporain comme professeure invitée au Minneapolis College of Art and Design et au Carleton College, dans le Minnesota. Elle a reçu des bourses du Conseil de recherche en sciences sociales, de l’American Institute of Indian Studies, de la College Art Association, du MacArthur Program/Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change, de l'Alkazi Foundation for the Arts et du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.

 

Projets de recherche

Photographies de courtisanes (années 1860 – v. 1900)

Inspiré par un album appartenant au Musée royal de l’Ontario et comportant 168 cartes de visite de courtisanes habitant à Lucknow ou ailleurs dans le nord de l’Inde, ce projet suit l’évolution des représentations des courtisanes.

Les photographies peintes de l’Inde (depuis les années 1860)

Ce projet examine un genre important de la photographie sud-asiatique, qui se démarque par son originalité et qu’on n’a pas encore étudié à fond.

La photographie en Inde (depuis les années 1840)

On essaie d’écrire un résumé de l’histoire de la photographie en Inde pouvant servir aux manuels scolaires.

Raja Deen Dayal (1844-1905)

Ce projet se penche sur les photos de Raja Deen Dayal (1844-1905), peut-être l’un des photographes indiens du XIXe siècle les plus célèbres et les plus prolifiques, et étudie ses studios à Indore, Hyderabad et Bombay.

Contact