David Rudkin

David Rudkin

Assistant Curator

Area: Natural History, Fossils & Evolution

Phone: 416.586.5592

Bio

B.Sc., Geology and Biology, University of Toronto, 1975

Dave Rudkin is an Assistant Curator of Invertebrate Palaeontology at the ROM and a recently "retired" cross-appointed lecturer in the Geology Department at the University of Toronto, where he taught 2nd-year undergraduate palaeontology for almost 20 years.

Like most of his fellow earth scientists, Dave Rudkin grew up with an abiding fascination for the natural world in general, but fossils and minerals obviously held a particular thrall. Perhaps because rocks didn’t smell quite as much as live voles, dead frogs, or dried crayfish, his family actively encouraged his geological collecting activities above biological ones and patiently tolerated demands to stop at every road cut and outcrop encountered on annual camping vacations.

Dave Rudkin was born and raised in the Toronto area, and to balance these childhood field forays, there were also frequent opportunities to visit the ROM, where a primal fear of encountering mummies around every corner was overcome by the stronger lure of seeing the fossil and mineral displays. Throughout his high school years and during subsequent geology and biology studies at the University of Toronto, the ROM functioned as an extended classroom, a learning laboratory, and a quiet refuge. Sometime during that interval, he became determined it would also be his place of employment.

By very good fortune (and with a little dogged persistence), Dave’s ROM career began in Spring, 1974 in what was then the Department of Invertebrate Palaeontology. Under the glorified title of ROM Researcher, he joined two other undergraduates assisting with the initial computerization of catalogue records and general lab work. When the others went back to school in the fall, he stayed on as part-time cataloguer, unknowingly setting himself up for an extraordinary opportunity. The ROM’s first Burgess Shale expedition, organized by Desmond Collins, headed to Yoho National Park (British Columbia) in June 1975, and he signed on as a field assistant to collect at the most famous fossil locality in the world!

For more than 30 years now, he has had the continuing good fortune to remain at the ROM, as a Technician, Curatorial Assistant, and Assistant Curator, developing research projects on trilobites, trace fossils and the palaeontology of the Hudson Bay and James Bay lowlands, among many others. Fieldwork, including many return trips to the Burgess Shale, is an important component of all these studies. He is also active in geoscience education, organizing and promoting interest in geology and palaeontology through public programs, field trips, lectures, exhibitions, and popular writing.

Other Links

University of Toronto Faculty Page


Research Projects

Studies on Paleozoic Arthropoda: Central Canada, including the Hudson Bay and James Bay Lowlands

Contact

David Rudkin

David Rudkin

Conservateur adjoint

Domaine : Natural History, Fossils & Evolution

Tél. : 416.586.5592

Biographie

Baccalauréat en géologie et en biologie, Université de Toronto, 1975

Conservateur adjoint en paléontologie des invertébrés au ROM, David Rudkin était récemment conférencier au Département de géologie à l’Université de Toronto, où il a enseigné pendant près de 20 ans la paléontologie aux étudiants de 2e année du baccalauréat.

À l’instar des autres spécialistes des sciences de la Terre, M. Rudkin était fasciné par l’histoire naturelle étant petit – dans son cas, surtout par les fossiles et les minéraux. Peut-être parce que les roches dégagent une odeur plus agréable que les campagnols, les grenouilles mortes ou les écrevisses desséchées, sa famille l’a activement encouragé à collectionner les roches et les minéraux, et a fait preuve de la plus grande patience quand le jeune David demandait qu’on s’arrête à chaque tranchée de la route ou affleurement rocheux lorsque sa famille partait ensemble en camping.

M. Rudkin est né et a grandi dans la région de Toronto. En plus de chercher des minéraux sur le terrain, le jeune David fréquentait assidûment le ROM, où l’attirait son envie de voir des fossiles et des minéraux, et ce, malgré sa peur de se retrouver face à face avec une momie vengeresse. Tout au long du secondaire, puis pendant ses études en géologie et en biologie à l’Université de Toronto, le ROM lui servait de salle de classe supplémentaire, de laboratoire pédagogique et de havre de paix. C’est alors qu’il a décidé qu’il travaillerait un jour pour le Musée.

Avec beaucoup de chance (et un peu de ténacité), M. Rudkin a réussi à entrer au ROM au printemps 1974, dans l’ancien Département de paléontologie des invertébrés. Portant le titre pompeux de chercheur au ROM, il s’est joint à une équipe composée de deux autres étudiants de premier cycle aidant à lancer la première phase de l’informatisation des catalogues, en plus d’être responsable des tâches générales de laboratoire. Après le départ de ses coéquipiers pour l’université à l’automne, il est demeuré au Musée à titre de catalogueur à temps partiel. Il ne pouvait pas savoir que sa destinée l’attendait au détour. En effet, Desmond Collins avait organisé la première expédition du ROM dans les schistes de Burgess, qui est partie en juin 1975 pour le parc national du Canada Yoho (Colombie-Britannique). M. Rudkin s’était inscrit comme aide-archéologue au site fossilifère le plus connu au monde!

Depuis plus de 30 ans, M. Rudkin a eu la chance de travailler pour le ROM, en qualité de technicien, d’assistant à la conservation et de conservateur adjoint. Il a, entre autres, lancé des projets de recherche sur les trilobites, les ichnofossiles et la paléontologie des basses-terres de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James. Les fouilles, dont de nombreuses expéditions aux schistes de Burgess, constituent un volet important de ces travaux. Il éduque aussi le public aux sciences de la terre : il écrit des ouvrages de vulgarisation et organise des programmes, des expéditions, des conférences et des expositions, qui encouragent les gens à s’intéresser à la géologie et à la paléontologie.

Autre liens

Son profil à l’Université de Toronto


Projets de recherche

 

Paléobiologie, paléoécologie et taphonomie

Étude des arthropodes du paléozoïque : le centre du Canada, notamment les basses-terres de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James

Contact