Corey Keeble

Corey Keeble

Curator, Retired

Area: World Cultures

Bio

B.A., English and History, United College (University of Winnipeg,) 1967
Art History, Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London, 1969

Corey Keeble was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and is a graduate of United College (now the University of Winnipeg). In 1967, he went to England on the final eastward passage of the Queen Mary to begin postgraduate studies in art history with Stella Mary Newton at the Courtauld Institute of Art during the tenure of the late Professor Sir Anthony Blunt. On completion of his postgraduate studies, Corey joined the ROM's curatorial staff working for the European Department (later Western Art & Culture; now World Cultures).

Corey is a recognized authority on the history of Renaissance and Baroque bronze sculpture and European arms and armour. His interests include Medieval sculpture, Gothic and Gothic Revival architecture, Medieval and Modern stained glass, the Russian Orthodox Church, icons, Judaica, and ships (he is a well-known lecturer on the Titanic) as well as firefighting apparatus. He is a frequent speaker at Toronto churches and synagogues on subjects ranging from liturgical art to stained glass.

Corey has written numerous catalogues and articles, and has been a regular contributor to Arms Collecting, and to the ROM Magazine. Among his major publications is the catalogue The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman Collection of Toy Soldiers in the ROM, published in 2002. He is currently working on publications on gunlocks, stained glass, Winnipeg architecture, firefighting apparatus, and crossbows. Corey speaks French, German, and Italian, and has a reading knowledge of several other European languages. He studied both Hebrew and Yiddish in connection with his work on the Dr. Fred Weinberg & Joy Cherry Weinberg Judaica Collection, and is also studying Russian.

An avid lecturer on Toronto architectural history — notably Gothic Revival church architecture — Corey has led many walking tours of old Toronto for such organizations as the William Morris Society and the Canadian Society for Decorative Arts. His walking tours have included surveys of historic Toronto churches and synagogues, including the historic synagogues of the Kensington Market area. His Canadian art and architecture tours have included Kingston, Ottawa, Hamilton, and other Ontario towns and cities. In recent years he has become equally well-known for his architectural walking tours of New York City and for similar tours of other American cities including Buffalo, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Philadelphia, Toledo, Washington, and Ypsilanti.

As a ROM curator, Corey has served as a resource person and guide on numerous ROMtravel tours to Europe. These have included Mediterranean and Danube cruises, as well as architectural tours of Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, and Italy. Among the most notable were a 1989 tour to Central and Eastern Europe which took place shortly before the fall of the Communist government in Czechoslovakia and of the Ceauşescu regime in Rumania, and the ROM tour to Dresden and Berlin in 2001. A keen photographer, he has recorded many of his travels.

Contact

Corey Keeble

Corey Keeble

Conservateur à la retraite

Domaine : World Cultures

Biographie

Baccalauréat en anglais et en histoire, Collège United (Université de Winnipeg), 1967
Histoire de l’art, Institut des arts Courtauld, Université de Londres, 1969

Né à Winnipeg, Corey Keeble est un diplômé du Collège United (qui est devenu l’Université de Winnipeg). Il a profité en 1967 de la dernière traversée en direction est du Queen Mary pour mener des études de cycle supérieur en Angleterre, plus précisément d’étudier l’histoire de l’art sous l’égide de Stella Mary Newton à l’Institut des arts Courtauld, alors que feu sir Anthony Blunt occupait une chaire de la faculté. Après ses études, il est venu travailler pour notre Département européen (qui est devenu ensuite le Département de la culture et des arts occidentaux, puis celui des cultures du monde).

M. Keeble fait autorité en histoire des bronzes et des armes et armures européennes de la Renaissance et de l’époque classique. Il s’intéresse à la sculpture médiévale, à l’architecture gothique et néogothique, aux vitraux médiévaux et modernes, à l’Église orthodoxe russe, aux icônes, à l’art juif, aux navires (il est réputé pour ses conférences sur le Titanic) et à l’équipement des pompiers. Il prononce fréquemment des conférences sur des sujets divers, allant des vitraux à l’art liturgique, dans les églises et synagogues de Toronto.

M. Keeble a produit de nombreux catalogues et articles, et collabore régulièrement au Canadian Journal of Arms Collecting et au ROM Magazine. Il compte parmi ses principales publications le catalogue The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman Collection of Toy Soldiers in the ROM, qui a paru en 2002. Il rédige en ce moment des publications sur les mécanismes de mise de feu, les vitraux, l’architecture de Winnipeg, l’équipement des pompiers et les arbalètes. M. Keeble parle le français, l’allemand et l’italien, et peut lire plusieurs autres langues européennes. Il s’est mis à l’hébreu et au yiddish en travaillant à la collection de culture juive Dr Fred et Joy Cherry Weinberg, et il est en train d’étudier le russe.

Conférencier régulier sur l’histoire architecturale de Toronto – celle de ses églises néogothiques particulièrement – M. Keeble a animé plusieurs visites à pied du vieux Toronto pour des organisations comme la Société William Morris du Canada et le Cercle canadien des arts décoratifs. Il a fait découvrir les églises et synagogues historiques de Toronto, notamment les synagogues du quartier du marché Kensington. Ses visites sur l’art et l’architecture canadien l’ont entraîné dans plusieurs villes ontariennes, dont Kingston, Ottawa et Hamilton. Il s’est aussi fait connaître ces dernières années pour ses visites architecturales de New York et d’autres villes américaines comme Buffalo, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Philadelphie, Toledo, Washington et Ypsilanti.

Conservateur au ROM, M. Keeble a été guide et personne-ressource au cours de nombreux voyages de ROMVoyage en Europe, dont des croisières sur la Méditerranée et le Danube, et des visites architecturales de l’Autriche, de la Belgique, de la République tchèque, de l’Angleterre, de la France, de l’Allemagne, de la Hongrie et de l’Italie. Notons qu’il était en Europe centrale et de l’Est en 1989, juste avant la chute du gouvernement communiste en Tchécoslovaquie et de Ceauşescu en Roumanie. Il se trouvait aussi à Dresde et à Berlin en 2001. Passionné par la photographie, il a souvent pris des clichés de ses voyages.

Contact