Allan Baker

Allan Baker

Allan Baker

Senior Curator of Ornithology and Head of the Department of Natural History

Area: Natural History, Biodiversity

Exhibitions & Galleries: Life in Crisis: Schad Gallery of Biodiversity, Gallery of Birds

Phone: 416.586.5894

Bio

B.Sc., University of Canterbury, 1966
M.Sc. (Honours), University of Canterbury, 1969
Ph.D., University of Canterbury, 1972

Allan Baker is the Senior Curator of Ornithology and Head of the Department of Natural History at the ROM.  He is also a Fellow of the American Ornithologists’ Union, an Affiliate Member of the Allan Wilson Centre for Molecular Ecology and Evolution in Massey University in New Zealand, and an Associate Editor of Systematic Biology and a member of the Editorial Board of BMC Evolutionary Biology.

Allan was born in Westport, New Zealand. His Ph.D. reconstructed the evolutionary history and historical biogeography of the world’s oystercatchers. He runs a DNA laboratory at the ROM and teaches molecular evolution at the Department of Ecology and Evolution at the University of Toronto.  His research group in molecular evolution and systematics is funded by grants from NSERC, NSF, Genome Canada, World Wildlife Fund and the ROM Governors. Allan is co-chair of the All Birds Barcoding Initiative (ABBI) steering committee, which aims to identify all the >10,000 species of birds in the world with unique DNA sequences from the COI gene.  He has been invited to lecture in 16 countries around the world, and is a member of the Committee of 1000 in the International Ornithological Congress (IOC).  He has organized and spoken at symposia at the IOC since 1986, has published over 160 papers in scientific journals, and has edited one book on molecular ecology.

Allan’s research focuses on reconstructing the avian tree of life with molecular markers, and then mapping other biological characters such as life history, behaviour, geographic distributions and ecology on the tree to understand their evolution.  Apart from studying how biodiversity has evolved, he also is heavily involved in conservation of migratory shorebirds, which are declining around the world.  Along with Professor Theunis Piersma of the University of Groningen in the Netherlands, he is co-founder of the Global Flyway Network of collaborative researchers to provide an early warning service for identifying migratory shorebirds at risk.

In 2007, the American Ornithologists' Union presented Allan with the William Brewster Memorial Award for his outstanding and influential work in avian molecular evolution. This prestigious award is given annually to the author or co-authors (not previously so honored) of the most meritorious body of work on birds of the Western Hemisphere published during the 10 calendar years preceding a given AOU meeting.

Other Links
Global Flyway Network
Consortium for the Barcode of Life
Baker Publications List (PDF)
 


Research Projects

Migratory shorebirds are true wonders of the natural world.

Contact

Allan Baker

Allan Baker

Allan Baker

Conservateur principal en ornithologie et chef du Département d’histoire naturelle

Domaine : Natural History, Biodiversity

Expositions et galeries La vie en péril : Galerie Schad de la biodiversité, Galerie des oiseaux

Tél. : 416.586.5894

Biographie

1943-2014

B.Sc., Université de Canterbury, 1966
M.Sc. (avec distinction), Université de Canterbury, 1969
Ph.D., Université de Canterbury, 1972

Allan Baker est le conservateur principal en ornithologie et le chef du Département d’histoire naturelle du ROM. Il est aussi membre de l’Union des ornithologues américains, membre affilié du Centre Allan Wilson d’écologie et d’évolution moléculaire à l’Université Massey en Nouvelle-Zélande, corédacteur de Systematic Biology et membre du comité de rédaction de BMC Evolutionary Biology.

M. Baker est né à Westport, en Nouvelle-Zélande. Pour son doctorat, il a retracé l’évolution et la biogéographie historique des huîtriers de notre planète. Il dirige un laboratoire de diagnostic ADN au ROM et enseigne l’évolution moléculaire au Département d’écologie et d’évolution de l’Université de Toronto. Son groupe de recherche en taxonomie et évolution moléculaire est financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, la Fondation nationale des sciences américaine, Génome Canada, le Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF) et les Gouverneurs du ROM. Il copréside le comité directeur de l’Initiative de codage des oiseaux par codes à barres (ABBI), qui vise à identifier les plus de 10 000 espèces d’oiseaux de la planète en analysant la séquence de l’ADN de leur gène COI. Il a été invité à prononcer des conférences dans 16 pays et est membre du Comité des mille au Congrès ornithologique international. Il organise certains des symposiums du Congrès et y prononce des conférences depuis 1986, a publié plus de 160 articles dans des revues scientifiques et a édité un livre sur l’écologie moléculaire.

Ses travaux portent sur la reconstruction de l’arbre taxonomique des oiseaux au moyen de marqueurs moléculaires, puis sur la correspondance entre les branches de cet arbre et leurs caractéristiques (cycle biologique, mœurs, aire de répartition, écologie, etc.) afin de comprendre leur évolution. En plus d’étudier l’évolution de la biodiversité, il joue un rôle important dans la conservation des oiseaux de rivage migrateurs, dont le nombre recule un peu partout dans le monde. Avec le professeur Theunis Piersma de Université de Groningue aux Pays-Bas, il a fondé le Réseau mondial des voies migratoires, au sein duquel les chercheurs indiquent dès le début quelles espèces d’oiseaux de rivage migrateurs sont menacées.

En 2007, l’Union des ornithologues américains lui a décerné le prix William Brewster pour ses travaux exceptionnels et influents sur l’évolution moléculaire aviaire. Ce prix prestigieux est remis chaque année à l’auteur ou aux coauteurs de l’ouvrage le plus important sur les oiseaux de l’hémisphère occidental publié pendant la décennie précédant la réunion de l’Union en cours. Il n’est décerné qu’une fois au même auteur.

Autres liens

Réseau mondial des voies migratoires (anglais)
Consortium du code à barres des êtres vivants (anglais)
Liste de ses publications (PDF anglais)

Contact